Army National Guard Employee Reviews

Found 15,096 reviews matching the search See all 15,391 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Army National Guard selected this as a representative review
Hooah
Aviation Operations Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 11, 2019
Love working in the Guard. It has helped me pay for my school, let me meet tons of new people around the world, and it has given me the opportunity to do things I never thought imaginable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Transportation Specialist (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 16, 2019
The national guard paid for my schooling, I made great friends and had lots of experiences you wouldn’t get anywhere but the military, it has opened many doors for me in the civilian life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and place.
Administrative Assistant to director of facilities (Current Employee) –  Faciltiy OfficeAugust 16, 2019
I like the place and people, great place to work. Very clean place and good atmosphere. Great location only 30 -45 minutes from my house, People are like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s the military
Cryptologic Linguist Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Horsham, PAAugust 16, 2019
It’s the military. You get out what you out in. The benefits and opportunities alone are worth joining. Chance to travel, get paid to learn new skills, and build your resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced environment
Health Care Specialist and Supply Specialist (Former Employee) –  IowaAugust 16, 2019
Great for all sorts of different people. Learn how to be the best version of yourself, and how to motivate others. Live once in a life time experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Start To A Great Future
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAAugust 15, 2019
If you're not sure where you want to be in life as far as school or job-wise, joining the military in general could really point you in a great direction. I wasn't too sure about my civilian or military job, so I joined the national guard because it is part-time, which gives me more time for decisions and options.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent part time job, which could lead to full time employment
Senior Human Resource Manager (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, VAAugust 15, 2019
I transferred from Active Duty Army, to the Army Reserves. I relocated and my commute distance affected my required monthly assembly. A National Guard unit was much closer so their was a conditional release submit to release me from the Reserves and transfer me to the National Guard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
92G Culinary Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fort Sheridan, ILAugust 15, 2019
You should have an idea in your head for what you see yourself doing and how you see yourself advancing in the path that you have picked. Nothing to it but to do it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Emergency Medical Technician (Current Employee) –  Talladega, ALAugust 15, 2019
Day is planned out thoroughly, and still can change. All types of people; cultures and ways of life, but everyone working together completes the mission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Motor Transport Operator (Current Employee) –  Cape May Court House, NJAugust 15, 2019
Love every moment of being in the uniform. Very good experience all around. You will receive the best training in how to do your assigned job, be a soldier, and be a leader. Works great around you day to day schedule and you gain a sense of duty and accomplishment from serving your country and community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone should join in some point in their life
11 bra (Current Employee) –  Opelousas, LAAugust 15, 2019
Work day consist of doing what your told when your told. Going above and beyond whats is expected is always Acknowledged. Basic training consists of 3 month primary mos Training and What ever your mos is specified as For how ever long the schooling is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifelong friends, co workers.
section seargent (Former Employee) –  Muskogee, OKAugust 15, 2019
In 1979 i joined the guard. They gave me money for college, i got $20,000. Bonus for going Airborn Infantry. I spent 13 years in service between regular army and guard. I think im a better man, confident, stronger, and a more responsible individual.
Pros
Friendship. Skills.
Cons
Hot, wet, cold, and sometimes miserable. But I would do it all over again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the Army
Information Systems Operator / Senior LAN Manager (Former Employee) –  Whitehall, OHAugust 15, 2019
Its the Army, just not like I thought it would be. I had expected "Army activities" like weapons training, camping, that sort of thing. Being deployed offered some of those things. Day to day drill weekends often included a multitude of mandatory briefings. Funding issues lead to units not having enough full time staff which leads to problems. Overall, it was a good experience.
Pros
comraderie
Cons
pay isn't very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The LA National Guard is a great place to work and grow personally and professionally.
INTELLIGENCE NCO / CARPENTRY MASONRY SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Carville, LAAugust 15, 2019
My time in the National Guard has been pivotal in my development as a leader and a servant in my community. I would recommend to anyone wanting to make a difference in the lives of others within their own communities and our country to join the National Guard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional Soldier
Human Resource Specialist (42A) (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, IN 46124August 15, 2019
Being a Soldier is easy - show up on time, do your job, wear the correct uniform, stay in shape. Generally it's one weekend a month and two weeks out of the year, but that is subject to change based on mission needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Cyber Systems Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKAugust 14, 2019
Good state military unit that is growing. Your experience will vary by the division you work in like most places. My experience has been my direct management is supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enlist!
94R Avionics Repairer (Current Employee) –  MississippiAugust 14, 2019
The National Guard teaches you skills you can take to the civilian world. I recommend choosing a career in the military that will benefit you financially in the civilian world. You only drill once a month, on a weekend. And 2-3 weeks out of the year you have annual training. It’s guaranteed income and the higher you progress in rank, the more money you get. Deployments also bring in active duty pay and benefits.
Pros
You are paid to learn lifelong skills
Cons
You sometimes deploy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always be ready to work and do your duties
United States Army (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAAugust 14, 2019
Wake up ready to get your work done and finish your duties on time and in Uniform. I learned to be on time and follow directions and be a leader and take charge when needed to. The hardest part of the job was just being over seas away from family. The most enjoyable part of my job was learning new things everyday and know I'm sacrifice for my country.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Wheel Vehicle Mechanic(91B) (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH 45215August 14, 2019
Great leadership, easy work days, and career advancement opportunities. I’ve been at my unit for at least three years at this point in time and I have zero complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the Army
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Starke, FLAugust 14, 2019
You work weekends. Could be 2-4 day weekends. Show up and do physical training on the first day of drill. Shower and change then go to work in your respective job. Two week annual training once a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best time of my life
Soldier in Training (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAAugust 14, 2019
I was enlisted in the Army National Guard for Nine months before I got hurt and tore two ligaments leading to a medical discharge due to injury but during that time it was the best of my life, I felt great, confident in my appearance, physical performance, and the mental discipline I learned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Army National Guard. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 15,391 reviews
59K
44.3K
31.6K
2306
1231

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight