Army National Guard Employee Reviews

Found 14,862 reviews matching the search See all 15,154 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the military
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 19, 2019
i dont know what more to say than its the military. It isnt organized at all and the pay sucks but it can be worth it in ways too with the schooling and benefits it offers for you and your family.
Pros
benefits, culture, friends, experience, education
Cons
leadership, orginization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military job
Texas (Former Employee) –  Dyess AFB, TXJune 19, 2019
Working for the guard was some of the best times of my life. The pay was right and I was making a difference. I worked long hours and got a lot done but it wasn't for money or compensation. It was for my country so I never really felt like I was at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the military, but
Manager (Former Employee) –  variousJune 19, 2019
There is a reason so many people just stop showing up to drill weekend. There is a reason for the 30-40% attrition rates. There is a reason they have a hard time recruiting. There is a reason that so few make it to retirement eligibility.

It’s not the promise Of God and Country. It is the total lack of effective and efficient leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another day at the army
Power Generator Mechanic (Current Employee) –  IndianaJune 19, 2019
I personally know that it is not for me anymore. It is not where I want to be anymore. As long as the upline aren't bad leaders then it is possible that you can enjoy your contract but the military isn't for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation maintenance company
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYJune 19, 2019
Working in the back-shops meant working on the elements of the aircraft while they were off of the aircraft. Some NCO's cared more than others when it came to the leadership of junior enlisted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Army was the best thing that ever happen to me
E-4 44B Welder (Former Employee) –  New Boston, TXJune 19, 2019
only 26% of people will be allowed to enlist. it is a good place for young man or women to learn who they are. It is an outstanding way to pay for school.
GO ARMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Soldier (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJune 19, 2019
Great experience. Some times were harder than others, but I truly valued my time while enlisted. Learned a lot, met a lot of people and will hold the experience dear to my forever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Logistical officer (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 19, 2019
Great way to pay for college 100%. Lots of cool things to do and great training. The culture is fun and there are many jobs offering a big signing bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Infantry, Calvary Scout (Former Employee) –  Ada, OKJune 19, 2019
I learned a lot while in the Army National Guard that has helped me though out my Career/ personal life. I have also met life long friends that I would not have met otherwise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not applicable.
Sergeant, Military Police (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 19, 2019
Military life is not for everyone, specially if you don't want to be away from your family for log periods of time. Being away puts stress not only on the soldier but also on the family left behind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
IT Technician (Current Employee) –  Manchester, NJJune 18, 2019
They prepare you for what you need to do at your specific job. The physical training is hard in my opinion but they make sure you get to that level of training and efficiency.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Army, even the National Guard is not for everyone
Calvary Scout and Infantry soldier (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 18, 2019
I greatly enjoyed my time in the National Guard, with one 12 month tour in Iraq. Training was always informative and made available to anyone that was willing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Army National Guard (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 17, 2019
We are not really allowed to say much about our job, but everyone in the unit shows up, they tell us what needs to be accomplish and they give us a set amount of time we have to accomplish each task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manageable
Motor vehicle operator (Current Employee) –  Coshocton, OHJune 17, 2019
It is a great job if you're about busting your tail in the good way of course. Doesn't feel rewarding till after you sit down and think about your times being at drill or in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The good ole boy system
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJune 17, 2019
If you want to go Title 10 or full time status, then you need to know someone for a full time position. This is your typical, "good-ole" boy network system. Very corrupt and back stabbing. Your experience might differ.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A strong team environment that promotes teamwork, accountability, and a sense of family.
Horizontal Construction Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MinnesotaJune 16, 2019
The Army National Guard is a mostly positive environment that creates a good atmosphere of friendship, and bonds with people who you’d never think you would, overall in my experience the National Guard has helped me understand who I am and what I can do. It’s also shown me that if need be I’m able to control myself and help others stay level in high stress environments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the military
Supervisor of 13 (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 16, 2019
Couldnt also for no better career love traveling love all the perks that comes with the military love the schooling love it all it’s has good benefits food retirement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good life changer
INFANTRYMAN (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 15, 2019
This is a good life changer for someone that wants to do something good for themselves. Not only does this job help your integrity out, it helps build you up as a stronger, smarter, and more determined individual.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army as acwin win for me to suceed
Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 15, 2019
The army created a place of family,home, fun , leaning , benefits, travel, and lots more. Where else are you going to find employment the will pay you to defend what you love , go camping and shoot big and small caliber weapons to only get paid for it. . th army is not only a carrier move it is also a second family that is there for you when in need .
Pros
Bennifits and familly
Cons
The hard work that it takes at first to be a part of that life style
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very beneficial for advancement within the organization and outside
Signal Support Systems Specialist (25U) (Current Employee) –  Hilo, HIJune 15, 2019
If you're looking to boost your resume and experience this is definitely the place to do so. You can begin to build a network or personnel that can help you within the organization as well as outside of it.
Pros
Benefits, discounts, tax breaks, retirement, travel
Cons
Sacrifice family time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Army National Guard. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 15,154 reviews
58.9K
44.2K
31.5K
2295
1218

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight