CVS Health Retail Employee Reviews

Found 8,061 reviews matching the search See all 8,080 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician
Retail/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 19, 2019
I didn't like that the security was creepy at the SeaWorld location. He kept hiding in between the cookies and isles to spy on me and he made it quite obvious. I did not feel comfortable as I was the tech that closed, but for some reason he kept messing with me after everyone left. Needless to say i quit with honors!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get trapped here!!!
Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Wollaston, MA & Cranston, RIJuly 18, 2019
I worked overnights and most nights I was scheduled to run front store alone, while management still expected me to fill and stock the store from the back room and do all the maintenance and cleaning. There is no overnight security or security cameras in the parking lot. I had my car broken into while working one night, people steal other customer's bikes, people looking in cars. You can purchase syringes at the pharmacy with just an ID but they do not have syringe disposal boxes, I have been pricked by one while changing the outside trash. My manager didn't show much worry and even the woman who handled my claim just wanted to close it as fast as possible. The training is really lacking, if you are lucky you will do something wrong and someone will correct you. Most of the time management lacks a backbone and will let certain employees continue to do something wrong repeatedly and expect other employees to fix it/pick up the slack. The job is not hard,I liked interacting with the overnight customers. Daytime customers were kind of entitled because of all the "sweet-hearting" the day crew did. I was often told to go against certain company policies/rules to please certain customers, which just made me look bad and made it hard to uphold those policies/rules when other customers see us breaking them for certain people. A good place to get your feet on the ground, a good stepping stone but I know very few people who last long here. When hired they make a lot of promise of room to grow but they don't tell you about the wage caps they have. I was told often I was the best overnight  more... worker, streamlined taking in truck, Operations Manager quoted "in three years i haven't seem all the product off the floor in the back room" but I wasn't getting paid anymore than the rest of the overnight crew. When asked for a raise was told to wait and then got fired when raise time came around. CVS is all about the customer, as long as they have an employee to fill a shift they could care less about the employees they have.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cvs sucks
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Hesperia, CAJuly 18, 2019
Cvs is a moneyhungry Corporation its not about healthcare when your overworking your employees and negatively impacting their lives.. Its all about numbers and being at the top.. The managers will stress you out as if life doesn't throw enough at you.. They make it a nightmare to work there never ever work in Hesperia ca at the cvs inside super target the manager is evil and a backstabber!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to start out
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Johns Creek, GAJuly 17, 2019
Was great starting out as a new person in the workforce. I did eventually end up leaving due to the fact that I wasn't paid highly for this position, but it was a good job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Upland, CAJuly 16, 2019
Takes 5 years to get close to 18.50. Medical is too expensive. treat their employees like something they stepped in. Comrade is not encouraged at all.
Pros
Not any i can think of
Cons
They prefer you be on call most of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of hours
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Riverside, ILJuly 15, 2019
Lack of hours which means less time in the work environment. No room for progress. The pharmacy is supposedly short on hours so I've seen 8 hours a week or none at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy & Fast Pace Work Place
CVS Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDJuly 15, 2019
I never gave up on work
Customers were to easy to handle
Never had a problem cleaning the store and stocking
Ringing up orders was an easy task for me
Stocking items was the hardest task at the job but still got it done with no complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHJuly 15, 2019
I worked at the CVS in Medina, OH . The store manager, Hugh Connard, was one of the best managers I’ve ever had! He always went above and beyond for his employees. He shows dedication in his work and sets high standards. If I didn’t move and get my apartment and the drive was shorter, I would still be there!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNJuly 14, 2019
CVS promotes itself as healthcare, but runs strictly like a business. Policies are straight forward and the store works mostly as a team. Downside is lack of recognition even with all the ways one can be recognized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it! Go to walmart or walgreens
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Homewood, ILJuly 11, 2019
CVS is the worst pharmacy because they only care about money and how to save it. Which is by cutting hours. Everyone in the begining was nice but the place has gotten so bad you don't know who to trust. Corperate smiles in your face and will be shady behind your back. Not a fun enviornment. Very narcissistic distict manager and CEO. The staf is so busy that new hires don't gain the proper training needed.
Pros
Close at 8
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cvs
Associate (Former Employee) –  Spring, TXJuly 9, 2019
I enjoyed working there until they started messing with everyone's hours, some people even wouldn't get any hours a week. People appeared to like me and I was always told that I earned positive survey scores beforehand, but then they decided to cut my hours to maybe 9 hours one week (if that) and 0 the next.
So I think irregardless of how well you work with them or with the customers they'll screw you over and give you no hours.
I'm assuming it has everything to do with favoritism, because even if you're a hard worker they'll treat you like you've outlived your use if you haven't known the manager long enough (a.k.a. years).

So even if someone doesn't work hard or work at all during their shift, they can still get the hours they need, and your hours will get cut. Sounds fair, right lol?

I guess I shouldn't have worked hard and just slacked off?
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cvs sucks.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Norco, CAJuly 9, 2019
You will get yelled at over tiny things. Not worth the job. They tell you one thing then yell at you when you do said task. Supervisors watch your every single move. Management favors customers more than employees
Pros
Paid Vacation
Cons
Stressful, non flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Dennis, MAJuly 8, 2019
Not a bad company to work for they have moved to the point where retailmanagement is not important and there is no chance for career advancement beyond store manager unless you are a pharmacist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away, you can do better!!!
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 7, 2019
I've been working for this company for over two years and during this time never have I ever been used, manipulated, and been lied to such an extent. There is a lack of structure, work life balance and standards. I've come to find that I'm underpaid and have been treated unfairly. I'm an operations supervisor training managers how to do the job. I was promised a promotion to operations manager that I've yet to recieve but I've definitely earned. One of my store managers who got transferred out gave out promotions like candy without having anyone earn or train for the position. This company claims they want to help people on a better path to health but does nothing for the employees who help make that happen. The district I work for has cut our store operating hours and will reprimand the employees who go over hours and quite possibly terminate them. I happen to work for one of the largest CVS Pharmacy stores in the nation that has a minute clinic but it's usually just me and just one other individual closing. The pharmacist is left by themselves for the remaining two hours before the pharmacy closes and I find myself running back and forth from pharmacy to front store and vice versa to back up my staff or lack thereof. They expect tons of work to be done but don't give us the necessary tools, staff, training or hours to accomplish anything. This company is about how much can you do and for how little!?!!? Everybody wants to be a boss but don't put the work in for it. I got written up for calling out sick. I don't even have time to take a break, I tend to sneak a  more... snack here and there just to keep myself functioning properly. I'm left by myself when others go on break for at least a half hour so I get no backup if I need it. When I got my title changed to operations, I've been given more responsibility but no raise for the extra work demanded of me. I'm suppose to be fulltime but been working part time hours. They're individuals who are operation managers but don't know even half the things I know to help properly run the store. It doesn't matter how good you are, how smart you are, if you have a degree or not, how knowledgeable you are, and how hard you work. None of those things are appreciated and or recognized. Instead of trying to make it work with a good employee/person it seems they rather work with garbage. The registers, computers, and equipment are antiquated and don't perform up to par or the way it's intended to. I've encountered registers crashing in the middle of a transaction I'm doing. Most of the store is filthy and there's signs of urine and excrement from vermin. Mold and mildew in the refrigerators. There's always one individual/employee who does more than the others. There is no team work and there's a lack of communication, organization, and good work ethics. I thought this company would be a good platform to grow and advance but it's based on who you know and how well you can kiss someone's behind, not the amount of good hard work you do. I've clearly wasted my time working for this company, please don't waste yours. You deserve better!!!  less
Pros
Sometimes you get to meet and interact with great people, Sometimes!
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Pharmacy manager (Current Employee) –  Saint Simons Island, GAJuly 4, 2019
This company cares about stock price only!! They could Care less about employees. They constantly cut your support hours then turn around and ask you to do more with less. If you complain you’ll be told to leave or ignored. They expect you to work for free. Come in before stores open and stay after closing
with no compensation. You have required meetings to attend with no pay

or time off they just suck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No family life in retail. Weekends ,nights and holidays.
R.ph (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 3, 2019
Very stressful. Pharmacy is NOT a career or job I would recommend to anyone. Still licensed in case your wondering ..Pharmacist I was working with was contemplating suicide. As a pharmacist the money was good. I quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2019
More work less pay is the summary of this company..no recognition of hard work or best customer service unless you are the pet of the pharmacy manager..
Pros
Flex schedule
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nightmare!
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MI AreaJuly 3, 2019
I have nothing good to say about the company. I have worked for CVS over 10 years now. I use to think it was a good place to work, but over the years it has become a nightmare. They cut the hours every year and expect you to get the same work done with less hours and less manpower. I work at a store that only has one manager on duty and one cashier. As a manager on duty I do not get any breaks. I never have time to eat, drink, or use the bathroom. Every day I work I am exhausted after. They don't care about the health of their employees. Every year they ask us our opinion on our manager and working for company. We give them our opinions but nothing changes, it gets worse. When someone calls off work there never is anyone to cover for them. When I call other stores they don't have anyone that can work and your other employees can't work either. I don't blame them. I was by myself at the store my whole shift because the manager didn't want to come in or let anyone else work overtime. Sometimes our Pharmacist is alone for a couple hours because there are not enough hours in the budget. They switch managers to different stores all the time. I had an awesome manager before and now I have an awful one. CVS is number 8 on the fortune 500 list. They just care about numbers. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY! I have been looking for another job but no luck. I will keep applying though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winchendon, MAJuly 2, 2019
worst job i have ever worked at you work there you dont get breaks when your supposed to you have to sneek food when you work manger there is horribe
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
CVS Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Lakewood, NJJune 29, 2019
I enjoy working for CVS, everyone is friendly and respectful but most importantly we all work as a team to get our jobs done. There are days that it can be overwhelming but at the end of the day everything gets done. They have flexible hours especially when it corresponds to coworkers who are still attending school which is the best part because my education comes first before anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CVS Health Retail. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 8,080 reviews
52K
42.2K
32.1K
2889
1905

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture