Capital One Employee Reviews

Found 7,259 reviews matching the search See all 7,661 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 19, 2019
I would still be at capital one if the office didn't close Down. This is by far a fun and outstand job to work for. Management is easy to work with there is something daily going on that makes the job very interesting makes you feel like a family member!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance at the time when I was there, the managers worked 60 hours a week and seem to be OK with it.
Collections Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJune 19, 2019
Many of the supervisors and managers went along with the way the department was managed, but complained about it in the breakroom or off property. Refuse to voice their recommendations or concerns.
Pros
Business plan was good for customer repairing their credit
Cons
Managment still of the department director.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace if not for the management
Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  McleanJune 19, 2019
Agile culture, focus is to migrate to the cloud, so many tie ups to companies to learn new skills. Good pay, rewards as well. Health benefits. Middle Management sucks
Pros
Free luches
Cons
Middle management sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for the Right Person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAJune 19, 2019
I love Capital One and as a company they are wonderful. The job itself can be very stressful dealing with the public and internal changes that are constant and not always well-thought out or executed properly. Training programs could be much better; the best way to learn is to just do it and learn by trial and error. Extremely disappointed that our incentive program was taken away, it's almost like doing more work for less money.

HR is amazing, very supportive. EXECELLENT BENEFITS AND PTO.
Pros
Benefits and PTO, Supportive work environment
Cons
Stressful, and NO incentive anymore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive envirnoment
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 18, 2019
the environment was productive, fast paced, and demanding. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the every day challenges that were presented to me, and look forward to facing them head on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Branch Ambassador (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 17, 2019
The culture of the company shows they care about not only the clients but the employees as well.
Being able to assist clients and building relationships without the need of selling a product was great because it helps build on a deeper level.
The company is not numbers driven.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Demanding
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FL 33634June 17, 2019
Stressful and demanding, call upon call upon call, call center environment. Every second you are counted and judged. The training is the poorest I have ever had, it is basically on the job training. After two years I am the only one left from my training class that I am aware of. It takes a toll.
Pros
work at home, saving you money and time, great benefits
Cons
the customer is alwasys right, even if they are "wrong" and you get yelled at alot and you can not help them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Customer Solutions Specialist (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJune 17, 2019
Hostile work environment and very unprofessioanal, management was clueless on how to resolve certain issues, they tended to take frustration out on their employees,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good Place of Employment
Senior Risk Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJune 17, 2019
Capital One is a pretty amazing place to work but gets interesting at times. I loved working there bt once personal issues arose there weren't many options or help . Other wise I wouldn't mind going back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is toxic
Sr. Loan Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJune 16, 2019
Capital One touts itself as a Great Place To Work. This is so untrue. Their culture is toxic and they micromanage. Their processes get in the way of production.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Sr. Recoveries Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJune 16, 2019
Overall the Capital One experience is great. Great health benefits, the coworkers are good, some of the managers could use some more training though. Like any job your own experience is going to be greatly influenced by your direct manager.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
things are ever changing and sometimes correct information about the changes are not given
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture
Universal Branch Associate (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VAJune 16, 2019
Capital One was is a great company to work for with a culture of growth and adaptation. Benefits are great and salary is competitive. One downside is that it is difficult to switch to a new department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 14, 2019
This company really does its best to make sure its employees are happy there. Benefits are great and room for growth. Took me two times to get hired but don't let that stop you. It is definitely worth a couple of attempts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJune 14, 2019
I joined as part of the TDP program. This program helped me grow as an engineer and opened several opportunities for me through out Capital One. At Capital One you will work with one of the more modern tech stacks and be required to take ownership of your application(development,testing, monitoring, infrastructure, etc.) Overall Capital One is a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capital one is an amazing company
Fraud intake specialist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, floridaJune 14, 2019
I've never worked for a company that cared so much for their employees. Everytime management takes a new course of action. Employees are told what to expect and are never left in the dark. They have wonderful benefits. Wonderful associates. Great place to work. Salary is fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Great place to work...
IT Field Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Louisiana and TexasJune 14, 2019
I really enjoyed working at Capital One and the experience I gained was a plus. I was able to further my knowledge toolkit and also gain both a network of professional and personal relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive remote working experience
Senior Software Engineer ( telecommute ) (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 14, 2019
Capital One had a work-from-home option which suited me well. My teammates were all whip-smart and friendly. The position motivated me to learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity Abounds
Digital Resolution Technician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 13, 2019
If you want diversity in all aspects, here's your place. Want to be anything and do anything, here's your place. Opportunities abound here and the sky is the limit, based on how hard you want to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capital One Sucks
Senior Production Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 13, 2019
They will fire you for anything any reason. even after any time frame from 1 year to 40 years, they dont care. Lots of favoritism and fake people. It feels like ur in the brady bunch. bunch of stupid meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Dont back you up when they want you gone
LeadTeller/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  MarksvilleJune 13, 2019
Disappointed with the way they handle things.
Overwork, dont work there. The manager has his picks and if you are not in his picks he looks at you like your nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Capital One. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 7,661 reviews
53K
42.5K
31.4K
2428
1339

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

3.7Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight