Citi Employee Reviews

Found 11,639 reviews matching the search See all 16,003 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and management
Fraud analyst (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 19, 2019
First off management is lacking. They are nice (some) mine was awful and lacked management with our team. Then I changed schedules and I still had a manager completely opposite of my schedule so I struggled when asking questions and had to find another manager for help. Their training severely lacked what actually being on the floor was like because they hardly did live traing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about politics and saying yes with a smile
Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2019
Citi likes to say it embraces change. Roles are defined by the person not the process and thus as people change, Citi redefines roles and role levels to suit individual managers. Jobs internally "posted" are rarely filled by postings. It is all internal networking and favortism. HR is completely complacent in this practice, defers to management, and thus there is a culture of "yes" required to retain or grow ones role.

Management at the C15/C16 level (Director and Managing Director) is neither empowered nor motivated nor rewarded to make hard decisions. Citi suffers from group think. Fairly senior titled managers frequently get lost in small details and often put time and effort toward small silos to champion their opinions and teams though the task they work on is meaningless or misguided and adds no customer, shareholder, or employee value.

There is a huge push to keep moving analyst roles offshore from NY, London, Hong Kong, Singapore, and other major hub cities to save money. With 30%+ annual analyst turnover after 5+ years of offshoring at volume the success at Citi is only measured in terms of $ of cost avoidance and the size of the offshore staff. Effectiveness of an analyst community with high turnover is known to be a joke yet not permitted to be discussed as that globally well known fact clashes with the message of success from the CEO, CFO, and other executive leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Citi is going in a direction that no employees understand.
Vice President/Manager-Safe Deposit Boxes (Former Employee) –  O'Fallon, MOJuly 19, 2019
Technology pursued by management is taking them backwards versus moving the company forward. A lot of money wasted. No input from those that perform the tasks on a daily basis nor managers that’s close to the processes. Terrible!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Senior Collections Agent (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 19, 2019
Responsible for the management of individual customer accounts.
Handle both inbound and outbound calls, answer basic questions regarding customer’s accounts.
Ensure the privacy of customer’s personal financial information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
FINANCIAL ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2019
Working for Citi is fun. Flexible schedule, humane management and lots of perks. Dress down days are awesome. You get to volunteer for any charity of choice for certain number of hours each year!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high expectations
Operations and Process Improvement Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2019
This is a good environment for learning and growth due to the fast paced nature of the work and high demands. Have to be willing to learn new ways of working. Lots of change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job was the staff
Risk Operations Associate Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 18, 2019
i really enjoyed working there and i would not mind going back for a position in the future. great staff and good management, i would recommend the place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Financial Center Operations Manager, AVP (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2019
Great company to work for! I only left because my branch was closed. I moved to a state where the footprint on retail side was minimal. Supportive management and freedom to make decisions. My branch always performed and the incentive was amazing.
Pros
Competitive pay and bonuses, no micro management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoffs, poor pay, they treat their customers and employees poorly
Elite Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJuly 17, 2019
Watch out for department layoffs and not following through on discussed pay/bonuses. The laid off at least 3 different departments when I worked there as a Elite Customer Service Rep. They promised our incoming class an opportunity for bonuses and never implemented them. They promised me so much an hour and then paid me less when I got in the door. About every 1 in 4 customers would scream/yell/cuss at me, which happened more than when I worked in collections. The customers we served were their high end clients. I didn't agree with the standards they used to grade us on each month, they didn't truly want us to help the customers (poor dept phone transferring system-hang ups, server messing up on almost every account, foreign reps cold call dropping customers on our dept b/c they're lazy and Citi doesn't fire them, Citi would rather outsource to a rep that won't do his job then pay an American rep that can fix a customers the first time or an American dept that can do the paperwork in 1/6 the time, etc), and they didn't care I was trying to retain their multi-million dollar customers. It costs at least 4 times as much money to attract a new customer than it does to retain one by fixing their issue, being extremely friendly and courteous, and calling them back as agreed. I would have customers leave messages on the my bosses phone on how I helped them and how friendly I was to them but my boss didn't like me since I refused to lower my call times by cold transferring them to other departments and allowing the phone system to disconnect them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Collections Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 17, 2019
Citi is committed to the continuous professional development of all its employees. Citi aims to provide employees with opportunities for career development to enable them to continue to enhance their skills and knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote Opportunities
Sales Support Sr. Analyst/ Vice President (Current Employee) –  TelecommuterJuly 17, 2019
Having an opportunity to work remotely has provided a great work/life balance. The company offers excellent benefits, development, and advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Best Companies
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 17, 2019
The only reason I left Citi was because of the distance. Other than that I had little to no problems with the company myself. Great benefits and wonderful work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bowling activities ,employee picnics
Head Teller (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 17, 2019
very professional when I first started working tthere
became very stressful after my first 5 years

I have recommended anyone working there my first 5 years
employee morale was very high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Bankruptcy Manager (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJuly 16, 2019
During my employment with Citi I was able to excel in different areas from front end collections mortgage to back end default manager. Change was constant at Citi. Always a bigger and better challenge which I enjoyed very much. Management was always involved with floor staff to ensure the employees always felt engaged and appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Senior Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 16, 2019
Citibank has a very rich workplace culture I truly enjoyed working for this company and would recommend this company to everyone looking for for a rewarding career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your experience depends on local management
Operations Manager Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsJuly 15, 2019
Citi is a great company to work for.
Good products and focused on the client, but your overall experience if you work in a branch is directly related to local and mid-management and that can change. Additionally hours are brutal, as a manager, there is no over-time and you can expect to work 50+ hours, but in banking, this is a norm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment to work at depending on your branch location.
Teller (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 15, 2019
I have enjoyed working at Citi bank for the past couple of months. My colleagues are great and theres barely ever a dull moment. My branch is very slow at times except when its pay day. A con about working at this branch is that it is difficult to meet credit card goals because it is the same costumers coming into the branch almost everyday. Most of them already have credit cards and some of them are not interested in it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Operational Risk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 15, 2019
During my 3 years at Citi I was able to move through multiple positions as the company continued to grow. If you are eager to learn and grow, this is the place for you. Everyday I was excited because I was not a cog in a wheel, but we were recognized for the work we did and how important it was to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Teller (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 15, 2019
The job is ok. Management could be better. They don’t really give you much work life balance and their system is outdated. If the system were newer things would be easier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company a with a lot of potential
Supervisory Principal - Assistant Vice President (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 14, 2019
While working at Citi, I learned a lot. It was my 1st job out of college and helped me learn the corporate ropes. I advanced pretty quickly, but it wasn't easy and management has a tendency to play favorites and treat people like numbers. Communication is a large issue firm-wide. Everyone complains about it but no one does anything about it. It's a great company to work for, especially if you're right out of college, but wouldn't necessarily recommend it for a life long career. Learn what you can then move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Citi. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 16,003 reviews
55.8K
45.3K
33.3K
2893
1646

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight