Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 7,041 reviews matching the search See all 9,554 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, air conditioned environment, VERY competitive
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXAugust 16, 2019
Working with Costco was a good experience and they take care of the workers they choose. They tell you you have a 90 day probation that you have to pass but all that means is they are picking and choosing who to let go. They will have you think your job is secure, make you go thru tons of training, and start firing people without any explanation at all. It was nice working there but I never want to experience a jobs system like that again. I don't recommend someone with a family to depend on this job if they are a new hire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment for work
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTAugust 16, 2019
Costco is one of the best company,
I love it,
Costco helps me to grow,
It helped me to be where I am today .
I encourage people to work at Costco. It's a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced but amazingly fun environment!
Outside Marketing Representative (Current Employee) –  Orem, UTAugust 15, 2019
Costco Wholesale is a fantastic place to work. You have to keep busy and always be working. Customer service is key because the members need to be treated with respect. The best part of the job is getting to work with the employees and members each and every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Cranberry Township, PAAugust 15, 2019
I enjoyed working at Costco .
But I was seasonal
If I was hired in as a none seasonal associate there would have been plenty of opportunities
Stocking shelves helping costumes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Hearing Aid Manager (Current Employee) –  Westlake Village, CAAugust 15, 2019
Good benefits, poor management. They promote their friends first and harass you if you take time off. Ok pay but after you top out you get a 50 cent annual raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, and fast-paced environment to work in.
Regional Trainer Costco Community Programs (Current Employee) –  Issaquah, WAAugust 15, 2019
Busy, fast-paced environment. Ability to advance is available if you want it. Have to have flexibility with your schedule. Retail world calls for working nights and weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Front End Associate/ Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAAugust 15, 2019
Great company with good Benifits annual pay raises growth opportunities fast paced hard working high expectations some micromanagement vibes good overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities
Raw/Grind Back-up Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Morris, ILAugust 14, 2019
My time at the Costco Meat Plant has been amazing. The company itself is so focused on drive and internal promotions that I was able to make supervisor in under a year of being with them. The trainings and information they give you about your job and how the company is doing as a whole is fantastic. There are some management issues but who doesnt have that. The pay is fantastic and so are the raises. The more you work the quicker you get your pay raise. The benefits for working are great. I will continue to work and grow here. There are tons of opportunities to grow and move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Tire Technician (Current Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAAugust 14, 2019
Working at costco was great however it is time for me to move on. It is a great job but i would like something more flexible to work with my school and life schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to earn a livable wage
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 14, 2019
If your looking for advancement this is not the place, opportunities are rarely available. If your looking for a great place with decent benefits and you are not looking to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you aren't friends with management, don't expect to get promoted
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Commerce, MIAugust 14, 2019
I worked outside pushing carts for about a year. One of the worst jobs I have ever had. Management had favorites, and if you were not one of them, you were treated very poorly. I am sure this is subjective to which location you work at, but that is just the experience I had. Also management would come check every few minutes, and if you were talking to another co-worker, it was very frowned upon... I guess communication isn't the key....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in.
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 14, 2019
Staff were very nice and helpful. Work environment was entertaining, and motivating to get through the work days. New hires were treated as family and trained and taught by shadowing and proper hands-on training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, with great benefits
Photo Technician (Current Employee) –  Kirkland, WAAugust 13, 2019
A typical day at Costco Wholesale can be chaotic and fast-paced more times than not.
Every time I change roles at Costco, I have a lot of new information to learn. Which I pick up on quickly and can manage by myself within a couple of weeks.
Managers at Costco have the hardest job since every manager has to manage hundreds of people. They get the job done and they do the best they can while staying positive.
There are only a few of us in the Photo department, but we all get along great and enjoy working with each other.
Sometimes customers (also known as members) can be very impatient and complain about having to wait, but then there are the members that are understanding and they don't complain about having to wait for what they came in for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work hours and co-workers
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVAugust 13, 2019
I enjoyed showing up to Costco knowing what the day had in store for me. Either restocking "dog wall" or soda isle, but also being on the floor for 4 hours before closing and stocking duties took place. I really enjoyed interacting with the members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was good
Full-Time Ecommerce Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAAugust 13, 2019
I want to say the pay was good but other than that I wish the environment within each employee was different everyone wasnt open minded . if I had any questions some managers seemed like they didnt wanna help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Food Court Assistant (Current Employee) –  Antioch, CAAugust 13, 2019
Costco has great benefits and excellent scheduling flexibility for student employees. Expect to work hard. There is never any dead time at Costco. As an employee, you should always be moving or doing something productive. The hardest part of the job is tending to a large number of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Optician (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAAugust 13, 2019
Great company to work for. After working there for a few years it was still difficult to get regular shift every week. The more seniority you have the more likely you are to get the exact schedule you want.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great benefits!
E-Commerce Phone Agent (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAAugust 13, 2019
Best company to work for! They really care about employees! Pay is competitive, benefits are amazing! Management team is awesome! Opportunities to grow within the company!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Dual lisenced optician (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAAugust 13, 2019
Management was good. Coworkers were friendly. Good hard, satisfying work. Very tired by the end of the day! In my location, it was normal to have members take a number & wait for up to an hour just to get a screw tightened or glasses adjusted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical terrible retail hours, management needs work.
Tire Shop Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tustin, CAAugust 13, 2019
My number one issue with working for Costco are the hours that you must work to work in retail. Never having weekends off means basically never having a "normal" social life, especially if you're a closer.
The management culture needs an overhaul. More often then not it seems that the person that gets the promotion is the most well liked, not most qualified. This leads to managers in skilled areas with absolutely no knowledge of how that particular business runs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9,554 reviews
54.6K
43K
31.4K
2349
1284

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP5%
In the Top 5% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Costco Wholesale.

Powered by Comparably