Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 6,726 reviews matching the search See all 9,168 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAJune 19, 2019
Fun fast paced place to work. Very generous with the hours and benefits. Friendly employees tho is a stressful environment especially with the diverse customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but inconsistent schedules
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAJune 19, 2019
I worked at Costco Wholesale as a Optician. I enjoyed my time working there. The best part of working at Costco is the atmosphere; you are surrounded by fun co-workers who make the job of working in retail more bearable. The worst part about working there was never knowing what your schedule would be until you wake up that morning and check online.
Pros
Samples, co-workers, pay, and benefits at part-time
Cons
Inconsistent schedules and rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
technical support frontline agent (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJune 19, 2019
i was pregnant while working there and was never uncomfortable or overworked. the management is very friendly and social. they have several break rooms and even game systems to help unwind during breaks. the customers are the hardest part of the job, but with enough practice will become easier to handle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the people I worked with at Costco
Front End Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mission Valley, CAJune 19, 2019
The members were great and most were enjoyable to help. Costco all together promotes hard work and a team oriented environment. I always felt they had hours to give and I was always willing to start early if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding. A lot of lifting when it comes to merch stockers mornings or nights
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  OntarioJune 19, 2019
Typical day you make sure sales floor is clean and presentable for members and to costco standards. Try your best to have all merch on the floor ready for sale that includes restocking if necessary. You learn basic customer service everyday. The environment everyone is mostly friendly and polite of course not all work places are perfect. Expect some co workers who are not always friendly. Hardest part of the job is being short staffed and having to do double the work load for consecutive days at a time. Enjoyable part is probably the free samples the demo ladies offer and the rare super occasions when the company provides free lunch/bbq
Pros
Good benefits, good pay
Cons
Dealing with customers, and workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and keeps you busy so time goes by faster
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  North Plainfield, NJJune 18, 2019
I had a great time working at Costco. The long days would go by fast due to the work flow and how busy you are kept. Costco's Management and the coworkers you are placed along with are amazing and very welcoming to all. I would recommend this company to all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good in theory, poor in practice
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester, VTJune 18, 2019
The front end is a nightmare. You are treated like you are replaceable, and the managers are constantly changing, bringing new rules you have to follow based on their own idea of how the front end SHOULD run. Employees who have worked there for upwards of 20 years are treated like they just started. Sick time is accumulated slowly, and in a place that deals with so many people there are a lot of chances to get sick. Management's way of dealing with this? "Don't get sick". Just don't do it. Breaks are short, you are told when you get a break by the supervisors, and always later than they tell you they will be. You get in trouble for being even a minute late back from break, doesn't matter why. If the supervisors like you, you get earlier shifts. If they don't like you, you get all the closing shifts. This is very disheartening when new employees get morning/afternoon shifts and you've been there for a long time. They won't let you request specific shifts, so say goodbye to a constant schedule. You have to be available all hours of the week in case they call you in. They give you 40 hours a week for 5 weeks in a row, but then bring you down to 35 hours just so they don't have to move you to full time.
The benefits and hourly pay are really all this job has going for it. You get paid a lot more than other similar jobs, and you get benefits even as a part-time employee. You just have to be willing to be treated like a robot without human needs and emotions.
This is only my experience with the front end (cashiering, assisting, and door service). Other departments are better managed
  more... and their atmospheres much friendlier.  less
Pros
good pay, good benefits, coworkers are nice
Cons
short breaks, poor management, no sick time, no opportunities for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJune 18, 2019
Was a great placed to work. You got all major holidays off and also got paid time and a half on Sundays. You rarely got full time but the minimum wage there is so high it really wasn't the big of a deal. Defiantly would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprisingly good career option
Front-end Associate (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJune 18, 2019
When I worked at Costco, it was not uncommon to see fellow employees that had worked there for decades. I knew one cashier who was a 15 year veteran making over $60k a year. As a cashier.

I defy you to find another retail option that has as little turnover and that pays as well as Costco. It's a great place to work.
Pros
Cheap lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Environment
Membership Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ukiah, CAJune 18, 2019
Training happens on the job by your peers who are expected to teach how their department works. Most employees are very friendly and supportive. Membership counter can be fast pasted and slow at times. You can expect to be pulled from the counter to help the front end box and load groceries on the concrete floor. Also be prepared to become a good salesmen of upgrading memberships, selling Citi Visa cards and promoting supportive services.
Pros
Collaborative work environment, Health care for part-time employment
Cons
Standing 100% of time on concrete floors, Everyone starts at $15/hr regardless of experience or education for most positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy being a customer but I would not want to work for them again
Return to vendor (RTV) Associate (Former Employee) –  Auburn, WAJune 18, 2019
I enjoyed working at costco for the most part at that time in my life. I would not want to work for costco in the same way again. I think costco is a great company and if they had the career opportunity I wanted I might consider.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Parker, COJune 17, 2019
Enjoyed coming into work even as a part-time worker. The food court was a cheaper alternative to bringing my own lunch and delicious. Those above you would be happy to help out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work if You Put in the Effort
Major Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, NJJune 17, 2019
Costco will take care of you and the experience you have working there will be great if you put some hard work in. They offer all sorts of benefits and assistance to their employees and the pay is good too. There absolutely will be days when it is hectic but that just comes with the sort of job it is.
Pros
30 Minute Break, Good pay, benefits
Cons
Holiday season is crazy, put in the work or they will tell you to hit the road
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced work place, with a fun work environment.
Frond End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJune 17, 2019
Costco is a face paced warehouse, where you will interact with hundreds of people every day. It is fun because you work in close quarters with coworkers, however it can be stressful at times because of how busy and rushed it is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy relaxed environment, fast paced
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 17, 2019
I enjoyed working at costco, and I had one of the yucky jobs,( cleaning restrooms and throwing trash) . Great pay and options for advancement with the company.
Pros
Good starting pay
Cons
Helathcare kicks in after 6 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working at Costco
Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Altamonte Springs, FLJune 17, 2019
Costco was a great working environment.
All employees were cordial and easy to work with.
Customer service was the most important thing.
I enjoyed working the front end and serving the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rock and Hard Place meet Costco
Night Stocker (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAJune 17, 2019
Do ya ever get that one rock in your stomach that collects and collects until you end up with a boulder? Then, when ya ask for help getting it fixed, ya get kicked to the floor and spat on? Welcome to Costco Wholesale...gotta bless those shareholders no matter what am I right??
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Staying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco is a great employer
Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJune 16, 2019
They really value you as a person. I love that the provide lunch breaks and also 15 minute breaks. If you are interested in transferring to another location they will do everything in their power to help you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Seasonal Front-End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJune 16, 2019
It pays well only when you've put in your time. You must full time for 5 years before your making enough money to live off of. It is very phsyically demanding work. You must be very aggressive to work here or your employees and managers will send you out the door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place too work people and culture are wonderful just the pay is not good.
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Sumner, WAJune 15, 2019
Overall great place to work. Cost of living is not there yet with their pay tho. The people and Management are really great people to work with just wish they could keep up with the competition of pay.
Pros
Great people and culture
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9,168 reviews
54.4K
42.9K
31.3K
2317
1259

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

4.3Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

87%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss