Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 22,563 reviews matching the search See all 22,589 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKJuly 21, 2019
The store manager was rude, passive aggressive, and uncommunicative.
She was uncomfortable to work with and did not provide any feed back. The schedule was poorly written and too many new people were hired, making hours cut way back for others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience working at Dollar general was overall pleasant.
Cashier/Freight (Former Employee) –  Walker, LAJuly 21, 2019
The hiring process was quick and simple. The employees were mostly very helpful and efficient at their roles. I was let go as result of conflict of interest . Yet, I would still work there if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Shipping (Former Employee) –  Zanesville, OHJuly 21, 2019
Working there was fun it’s competitive and good exercise. Very physical. Long hours but the pay was good. Great team members. Very fast paced but easy work when you get the hang of it.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 21, 2019
Its a great first job for young people or for someone who is single but I wouldn't suggest this job for someone with a family. Its a pretty fast paced work place and organization is key.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Short brakes constantly on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady fast paced enviroment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake City, FLJuly 21, 2019
Customers keep you busy all the time,gotta be able to throw freight,do planograms,and keep up with everything.....your definitely on your toes at all times....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dollar General Cashier (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAJuly 21, 2019
Working for Dollar General is relaxed and fun all at the same time. You get familiar with customers who come in a lot. When there is no customers you stock the shelves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good days and bad days
Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 21, 2019
It really all depends on the crew you have. If you have a solid crew that works hard for you then life isn't hard. But it you have a store in a ghetto neighborhood don't expect for life to be easy. Constant call offs so if you can't get coverage you will be the one working those hours. Stores don't shut down you are paid the "big bucks" so it's your responsibility it doesn't matter that you have children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Maumelle, ARJuly 21, 2019
I was a store manager. District manager fired all of my staff. Set unrealistic goals. I worked from 6 am ton1030 pm 7 days a week. Had to use my personal vacation to pay employees if we went over 40 hrs. Per the district manager. I do not recommend this company to anyone if you have kids or any kind of social life. You will rarely see your kids and you will not have any type of social life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Upper Management
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOJuly 20, 2019
District Managers and above only care about themselves, they do not stand up for their employees, only care about the store if it makes them look good. Definitely did NOT get paid for the amount of hours I was working as a salaried manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, NCJuly 20, 2019
In lamest terms, the most unorganized business from corporate on down. Would not recommend to a friend at all. This at least applies to the location in Murfreesboro, NC.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor upper management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Marrero, LAJuly 20, 2019
Incompetent individuals are selected for advancement, and lower workers suffer. Stores become disorganized leading to poor customer satisfaction. Advancement beyond a key holder is rare for motivated individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store in kcmo
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 20, 2019
OI enjoy my job until I started working at kcmo store and we go a new manager and he did like me. He used a something that went on in the back of the store. To get me fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Lead Sales Associate/Assistant Manger in Training (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAJuly 20, 2019
Overworked ya I was lucky if at times I get my lunch break at a normal time! Never got any 15mins breaks worked hard to get no reconciliation for the hard work you did!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bardstown, KYJuly 20, 2019
I"m gonna be 100% honest, don't waste your time working here.You're going to suffer, because you're only ever going to be working with one other person, and when they go on break, you're by yourself. And the scheduling is complete nonsense. On top of all of that, the pay is not worth it in any position. The only good part about working here was the hard-working manager, and the other co-workers, because we suffered together, and we bonded because of it. Here's a list of other bad points of working at DG:
You have to work every single holiday except Christmas, however, 3 days before Christmas, you have to work an extra hour.
You're rarely ever able to choose what hours you work, or when you get time off, because we're always short-staffed.
To end this review, this job has been an absolute nightmare, and I want the hours of my life that they took away from me back. Do not consider this for a part-time position, especially if you're in school or looking to work seasonally to make money before school starts, because you will hate your life, and waste your entire break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a really bad to work at
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cary, ILJuly 20, 2019
It honestly a place where you want a second job and you make a little extra money there hours are really bad and the pay is as bad as the hours I would tell anyone to work there to be honest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all I am ok with my job.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJuly 20, 2019
Enjoy my job. Things are not always easy. I am doing fine. Wish the pay would increase. 8 hr 30 hrs week doesn't pay my 500. Rent. Have too have two jobs to Survive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work...
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Longview, TXJuly 20, 2019
When I first got hired, the manger, literally threw me under a bus, the ones that actually taught me what I really know, were the rest of the employees that worked there. Honestly, it is a horrible experience, they do truly make you work so much for so little pay. There are only two people at the store at all times, which takes 4 people to do work, they only want two.

They want you to stock and recover while dealing with the register and customers, it is impossible to recover the whole entire store, especially when your store is busy.

Customers tend to be nice most of the time but you will get rude customer, sometimes get assaulted because they get mad at you for the stupidest reason and throw something at you (coupons most of the time).

It is horrible...I am hoping I can get a better job soon...so I can leave...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people I worked with not so much the job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Dorado, KSJuly 20, 2019
I wouldn’t work here again due to the low pay (minimum wage) and terrible attitude of the manager. I loved everyone I worked w, it made it hard to quit.
Pros
Customers, employees
Cons
Pay, treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Philadelphia, OHJuly 20, 2019
sometimes very stressful and very fast paced. must be able to multitask very well and be able to work with the public. always be polite to customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wack
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 20, 2019
Dont ever work at the Dollar General off of 44th and May. Dirty, bad management, and horrible training. Plus im pretty sure my manager gets drunk before his shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 22,589 reviews
54.8K
45K
36.2K
23.1K
13.5K

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Dollar General.

Powered by Comparably