Family Dollar Employee Reviews

Found 14,491 reviews matching the search See all 14,523 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much work to little help
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 19, 2019
Not the place to work if you want to spend time with your family. There is no Family in Family Dollar. The pay is good though. If your a workaholic its the peerfect compay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAJune 19, 2019
NEVER WORK THERE!!!! They do not care about their employees. Managers and district managers are trash and should be fired. If you report to HR, you will be retaliated against by your manager, which is against federal law
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston TxJune 19, 2019
Fun place to work. Very busy store. Not enough staff to cross train. Maintaining was a challenging. Yet it was a very good learning experience to develop management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNJune 19, 2019
Great company will help you grow your skills, easy to work and develop confidence in self. They are willing to help you expand in all areas that youe desire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCJune 19, 2019
not the best place to work at all long hours pay not the best and you really have to split yourself in half here not the best ..........................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful and face paced work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Batesville, MSJune 19, 2019
Very Fast Paced. I learned so much I can't summarize it up. High risk work culture. Hardest part working 16 hours most days and not having enough hours to cover shifts or get freight out. Customers most enjoyable part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They work you to death. And when you need help ,they wont help u
Manager (Former Employee) –  4195. Amelia,ohioJune 19, 2019
Being a manager was great at first. I learned alot. But over the years of turnover it got so bad. My crew and I had a nice store. Looked good my numbers were good. But when we needed help from the Corp. Office it got bad.. they do not care one bit for their employees. I got so stressed ,and almost had a stroke I quit on them. I loved my crew and I love my customers. And my store. But like I said corp treats you so so bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment in work in.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Starkville, MSJune 19, 2019
It was a good place to work. The work was not too hard nor easy. The only challenging part was stocking shelves because everything had to be in order and neatly placed. If I could find another family dollar to work at I would run to that application.
Pros
Small Discounts
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New learning experience and Fun workplace
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  854c N Main Rd Vineland NJ 08360June 19, 2019
What I like best about my job is that a primary responsibility involves interacting with employees on all different levels of the organization and across all functional areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Highland, CAJune 19, 2019
Review about this job would be that we did our best in always providing the best customer service and experience as well as training and educated customers about the stores new items to incite excitement.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
Getting paid bi weekly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience was easygoing with this company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAJune 19, 2019
I worked for Family Dollar on two different occasions. And I have nothing to come complain about. The staff were true team players and management was excellent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAJune 19, 2019
lots of traffic and kept me busy. i enjoyed working there. i enjoyed being a manager there. i enjoyed working hard with the company. i really enjoyed opening the store and i enjoyed my customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chandler, TXJune 19, 2019
Family Dollar is a pretty decent place to work if you have no life and wanted to live at the store. I worked an exuberant amount of hours.i was constantly covering everyone's shifts including the store managers. I never had a free moment in life. It was like that store was my child. Over worked and under paid.
Pros
Always have hours
Cons
No breaks and confines your life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me learn a lot but The management could’ve been better
FIELD SPECIALIST/ ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 19, 2019
I worked there for 3 1/2 years I learned a lot from managing money merchandising setting displays but overall the company Needs better communication between the staff and manager ,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sanford, NCJune 18, 2019
Great management depending on location! I enjoyed the district manager at that time also. Always something to do whether it was stocking , running the register, cleaning, paperwork,etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You only get out what you put in
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 18, 2019
Without a good team, from cashier to ASM and Store manager, you'll experience long stressful days on top of fearing for your life after attempting to prevent consistently violent shoplifters from walking out the door with you potential bonus or raise. Upper management expect you to do way more and continue to force you to work with way less. That's not too pressuring but it demoralizes and discourages lower tier employees, especially because they dont get any benefits.
Pros
For me personally, Scheduling
Cons
Compensation, no overtime but work long hours and long weeks, vulnerability to crime(no security guards), underataffed shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treated me well at work and I hope our customers and welcome people in and restocking do everything such as that and yeah treated well enjoy
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Somerton, AZJune 18, 2019
It wasn't that bad of a job I enjoyed myself all I had to do was keep track of the cash get up everyday keep track of the food make sure it's all put away and how about the customers I needed help and treat people and you know all that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy Management and everybody was stealing
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  MagnoliaJune 18, 2019
The location I worked at, everybody was stealing, corporate was blind. The manager never did much, was always outside smoking. The employees did most of the work in the store. It took him more than a day to even finish a schedule.
Pros
Small trucks
Cons
No breaks. Work alone. Over worked. Bad pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Morrow, GAJune 18, 2019
My manager is willing to work with my schedule needs, she might not get to work on time every day but she gets the job done when she does come. As a cashier I never get off on time due to second shift coming in a little late. The rest of the team get off on time but if your a cashier your pretty much stuck until you are relieved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Baxterville, MSJune 18, 2019
Very fun and productive work environment. Gives you an opportunity to learn and grow. Overall its my favorite work environment. Learned a lot from them.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Family Dollar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 14,523 reviews
53.3K
43.4K
34.1K
21.8K
11.9K

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

Women's ratings

2.7Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

33%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss