G4S Employee Reviews

Found 7,059 reviews matching the search See all 11,650 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
G4S selected this as a representative review
great place to work,
Lima Ohio (Former Employee) –  Security officerNovember 10, 2011
This Company does take care of it Employees, and the benefits are great, the pay is real good, and advancement is promising
Pros
excellent pay, good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company, they give you the tools to succeed
Un-Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 16, 2019
Good company to work for, supervisors show concerns for officers, supervisors are willing to work with you if an emergency should happen or if you have an appointment on a particular day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Upscale Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 16, 2019
The account manager is good to work with. The company just needed to address employees concerns. The employees treated one another nicely and professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4S Secure Solutions
Account Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 16, 2019
Working for G4S Secure solutions was pretty simple. Show up on time, in your uniform, and do your job. I was promoted to a Supervisor position after 2 years. Compensation, is one of the better in the industry, but still could be better. All in all, its a decent company to work for if you put forth the effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Compliance investigation and compensation manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 16, 2019
Don't do it. It's that simple. I would not recommend it for any reason. There are way too many issues there. Truly would take forks to my eyeballs repeatedly before working there. It truly is that bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick advancement and High Stress
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAAugust 16, 2019
A good way to make money if you're willing to put in the time, depending on assigned site location. The security field always has shifts and hours to be picked up. Very much a trial-by-fire and sink-or-swim sort of job. Camaraderie and Cooperation within a Site are high, dissatisfaction with regional management higher.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4s
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 16, 2019
I started G4S at the University of Louisville Hospital in Louisville. The management at that hospital was absolutely amazing! The shift supervisors are attentive, intuitive, and they have your back as long as you're in the right. You're also trained very well....then I transferred to Lexington Ky, and was placed at CHI main...never had a problem at the lexington office, but all imma say is at CHI main...they be on some suuuuuper funny business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment and an excellent place to work
Custom Protection Consultant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NE 68144August 16, 2019
It is very productive working environment and an excellent place to work. People are very Friendly. Open Communication is one of keys sucess to effective team and excellent leadership in the corporate insttitution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my immediate co-workers and the APD officers on site
Customs Protection Officer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 15, 2019
typical workday clock in at 7:45 to begin at 8, paperwork, work vehicle check,
I learned a lot about accepting and releasing fleet delivered, proper patrolling techniques
Pros
free snacks, juices, coffee
Cons
my immediate supervisor was VERY UNFAIR and played favorites, He only provided advance training or promoted those he favored
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Time in Texas
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 15, 2019
They WILL NOT hire you Part-Time if you still work Full-Time for another security company. They stated to me it was a conflict of interest. I was told the opposite by the recruiting office in Florida when setting up my interview. The Irving, Texas office was really nice to me about it and apologized for waisting our time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Investigator (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NC 27615August 15, 2019
Management doesn't care if you're happy with the work conditions, pay, etc. and they want you to know it. Raises and promotions are almost non-existent. Take this job if you're desperate but keep applying with other companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I a pleasant exoerience
Security Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ellisville, MSAugust 15, 2019
I had an excellent working experience with G4S. Management was kind to me and helped support me in everything I needed to he successful. My post was laid back sometimes to laid back and it seemed more if a customer service then Security itself. It was unfortunate that G4S list the contract or I might still be there today. My only concern was how long it took to hire someone. We only had one person per shift and if somebody quit or got fired then it was a lot of extra work that burned you out rather quickly.
Pros
Steady work and supportive management
Cons
Took too long to hire people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest truth.
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNAugust 15, 2019
Just look at my rating. It speak for it self. I mean the company has work but are contactors with some of the most high horses people who want to call the shots every shots of what security can do and can't do. Expect to be a kiss up and a "yes" person. They hire questionable people, not enough staff, good bye weekends, and be ready to become the sacrifice goat for everything that goes wrong.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Master Scheduler (Current Employee) –  city of industryAugust 15, 2019
a lovely place to work ,no micro management .
employees are very down to earth .
my boss was a little private and never wanted to have a conversation with me but other than that i think its a beautiful place to work in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management and Work Environment
Custom Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 15, 2019
Working a Law Enforcement Support Account, I expected there to be a great deal of professionalism and a higher caliber type of employee/manager pool.

After almost a year here, I have never worked for a company that has absolutely zero morals, zero integrity and zero accountability. We have had employees steal equipment, lie, steal time, forge paperwork, submit false documents and reports and flat out refuse to work and be openly insubordinate to not only G4S management, but the client management as well. Absolutely NOTHING has happened to any of those people. Managements response? "They're a nice guy, I like them".

I will never recommend G4S for a service provider or as a place to work. They are just as crooked and corrupt as every other Security Company out there and will hang their employees out to dry in a heartbeat and replace you with someone who can't even speak English, let alone read it or write it. The screening process is a joke and so is the Branch Management.

I came into this company and job with a very high expectation and have been nothing but let down and disheartened since day 1. They don't even follow their own policies and procedures, but harp on it and intimidate all employees into getting what they want.

Training? Complete joke and waste of time. Supervision? There is none. Accountability? None of that either.

The most dishonest and dishonorable companies I have ever worked for. Would not recommend to anyone looking for a career. As a pit stop along the way, sure, it'll do.

Benefits? Yea, if that's what you want to call them. SUPER
  more... expensive for almost no coverage on the medical side. Dental is the same way. Vision isn't to bad. They do have pretty good supplemental insurance but overall for benefits, horrible, considering the size of the company and number of overall employees.  less
Pros
Decent Pay
Cons
Management, Hostile Work Environment, No Accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 14, 2019
This job switch you to much for nothing then they have no reason on why they are giving less hours management is poor communication is poor they are not that good with giving hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for G4s as a Court Officer was a experience I will never forget! The brotherhood knowing fellow Officer doing helping 5,000 customer a day
Court Officer (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIAugust 14, 2019
While working as a Court Officer was a great experience meeting different people from around the world. Learning how handle all different type of matter and situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 14, 2019
Good people to work with. The people are hard working. The work environment is good. You will enjoy working with the other officers. Good officers to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Unarmed Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2019
Great place to work. I left Allied Universal formerly known as Allied Universal. G4S has been great to me and I enjoy working here. My plan is to move further up in the company using my bachelors and paralegal degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  West Point, MSAugust 14, 2019
Not a good job in Mississippi no pay raise not enuff help mangermnt not helpful and only start u off at 9 but they tell u they will start u off at more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good flexibility
Arm guard (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 14, 2019
Great place to work great flexibility good benefits if you choose to take it. transferable if you decided to move to a different location ,hours if you need to work more if the availability of hrs is there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 11,650 reviews
53K
43.1K
32.8K
21.2K
11.6K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at G4S.

Powered by Comparably