G4S Employee Reviews

Found 6,815 reviews matching the search See all 11,281 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
G4S selected this as a representative review
great place to work,
Lima Ohio (Former Employee) –  Security officerNovember 10, 2011
This Company does take care of it Employees, and the benefits are great, the pay is real good, and advancement is promising
Pros
excellent pay, good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very best training, Best benefit, pay and more...!!!
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 19, 2019
My best experience, G4S gave me paid time training for security license, CPR/Aid license, and this company is huge spread nationally and internationally. Best security Company in my opinion!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an ok job, boring most the time.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJune 18, 2019
It was boring for the majority of the job but you had pretty important responsibilities. I felt there was an inherent danger working as a security officer and that the job didn't pay enough. I worked with good people though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and worthwhile
CUSTOM PROTECTION OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 18, 2019
I enjoyed almost every shift protecting not only the students at various schools while keeping an open observance for order and safety. Valuable service.
Pros
Protecting many people
Cons
Oh my aching feet from the foot patrols
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on the shift it can be somewhat busy to dead.
Traditional Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDJune 18, 2019
I worked swing and night shifts. Both had me sitting in a shack by myself for the entire shift watching camera feeds, checking in and out visitors, issuing temporary badges to employees that had forgotten theirs or contractors. Preforming foot patrols around the factory checking doors, fences and gates for irregularities. Weighing in and out delivery trucks for receiving. Monitoring radio use in case of emergency, and keeping a running Log of the days events. The job is slow paced and night shift can go by with only talking to 2 people the entire time.
Pros
Slow paced job. can read or due other tasks that can be dropped at a moments notice.
Cons
Boring. Rounds have to be completed in most weather conditions that aren't life threatening.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours but decent pay
Armed Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 18, 2019
Worst was people not showing up to your shift and having to double down but otherwise the people who work are great and the experience gained was fruitful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement in the company. Drop pay rates after 4 years.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Cherokee, ALJune 18, 2019
This company is horrible to work for. There is no advancement or continued training. Management sees its employees as warm bodies to feel the hours at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
prisoner transport Security Officer supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 18, 2019
Unless you are prior military or law enforcement you will not be considered for the armed prisoner transport position in the Orlando office. I believe everyone should be paid more then $17/hr due to the number inmates that we transport on a weekly basis!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 18, 2019
The company in San Francisco is poor. The supervisors and managers are very rude, disrespectful and will cover for one another when they suspend and or fire and employee. When a supervisor is in the wrong they will over look it but down put and treat the employees bad. The account manager at trinity named Justin Lee should have been fired but they allow him to be disrespectful, rude, inappropriate, intimidating and very unprofessional. He lies and get away with everything. This company doesn’t care about the employees they rather ignore them and fire them with no true explanation or true reasons worth being fired!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Upscale Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAJune 18, 2019
Guards don't show up on time to relieve you after you worked all night. Management doesn't care a person was late 5 days in a row 20 to 30 min late sometimes they didn't even show. And they never even got written up when I asked about it. The rule is when your off your off the lead is supposed to hold over if no one shows. But they forced me too while they just smoke and hang out. Plus the supervisors are janky always smoking, unkempt, and on night shift the lead guards would leave be gone for hours, hardly worked, and they would take naps in the cars while I did all the work.G4S needs more professional management.
Pros
Having a job
Cons
Bad management, low payrate, lazy coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brilliant, OHJune 17, 2019
The company sucked did not treat you fairly always threatening employees if you called main office in Florida about your complaints did not care about you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
CPO City of Tempe (Former Employee) –  Tempe Municipal CourtJune 17, 2019
Court Protection Officer. Managers did work together and each had there own agenda. The hardest part of the job was adjusting to each managers style and their inconsistant work ethics and practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that promotes from within
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SC 29461June 17, 2019
G4S Secure Solutions provides security for many businesses as such you have an oportunity to work at a variety of places and provide customer service at many levels. The company is very strong for internal promotions.
Pros
Great work enviroment, internal advancement
Cons
Not great benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with workplace with many opportunities in public relations
UPSCALE SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Arden, NCJune 17, 2019
G4S is a great job with a tremendous working atmosphere and opportunity for hours. I have worked for G4S over 5 years and in multiple states. G4S gave me the opportunity to pursue a career in Law Enforcement.
Pros
Paid Vacation, Full Benefits, and available working hours
Cons
No available raises, no promotions, and minimal vacation time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They just didn’t care.
CPO (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 16, 2019
I was just a body to fill their schedules. They really didn’t care about the employees. Money hungry corporate. Messed up paychecks. Horrible in every way.
Pros
None
Cons
Uncertain hours, low pay, poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Security Officer (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 16, 2019
Tried to return to the company and have been pushed a side, I have rehire status. I put in their applications, and I have 15 yrs experience as an officer, all I see is unsuccessful in all jobs I apply for.....
Pros
Professional
Cons
They can place you in a bad area, and the PC can lie about you performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
BPO (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 16, 2019
My last post was a Armed USO assignment to many Bank of America branches throughout the Las Vegas, NV. Area. My Bank Captain was a great leader knew how to get the job done quickly
Pros
Great team to work with
Cons
Vests were hot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work at.
Security Officer (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 15, 2019
G4S is a good company. My coworkers were great and management wasn't terrible. The only thing they need to do is to stick to standards and resist some of the client employees who do not understand or care for the job of security. Also don't tolerate G4S officers that cozy up with client employees to denigrate the job of security. The successful officers I saw were those that focused on facilitation of smooth operation of the clients business and prevention of theft and incidents. It wasn't the suck ups, that got the raises and the promotions. There is focus on continuous training on company site and from supervisors which is a good thing. There is also promotion from within for employees who want it which is great.
Pros
great coworkers, different tasks, easy work, etc.
Cons
not a lot of benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run !
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2019
Don't walk away from this place, RUN from it. They are completely unorganized. They don't promote from within they rather hire from outside so it's basically like once your in your stagnant. No matter how many years you've been there you get the same pay, they don't give raises. Continuously messes up your paychecks. I've seen them get rid of people that bust their tails for the company that make ONE mistake but hey I guess that's anyway job, can't trust them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Okay Job.
SECURITY OFFICER, G4S (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJune 14, 2019
It's a contracted security company. So turn over was high. had a lot of 60 hour work weeks. great for my bank account but not for my life. At first the pay was good, but over time the cost of living grew too great. Besides that the job was easy enough if you have common sense.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I almost enjoyed working for them at first until i learned how they really operated.
security guard (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJune 14, 2019
This is possibly the worst security company you can work for. Management & supervisors are subpar. They never get your paycheck correct. Especially for holidays & overtime. There is also favoritism shown. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR EMPLOYEES AT ALL!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 11,281 reviews
52.9K
43K
32.8K
21.2K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss