In-N-Out Burger Employee Reviews

Found 1,650 reviews matching the search See all 1,657 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, room to move up, flexible scheduling
Fully Certified Level 7 Shiftperson (Current Employee) –  Temecula, CAAugust 15, 2019
Extremely fast paced and stressful during rush times but as long as you are quick on your feet and work with a sense of urgency you will love it here. The higher up you go in the company the more political it gets as far as being the next to “level up”. Great benefits even for partimers and super flexible with scheduling especially if you’re in school!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place but very hard work
Cook/Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTAugust 14, 2019
I Love In-N-Out with a passion but the work is hard and can be very physically demanding. Sometimes the scheduling, at least at the store I was at, working full time can be mentally draining. But! It pays extremely well and the benefits especially for full time are absolutely amazing. I would definitely consider working here but not forever because it can be very demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Cashier/ Food Preparation/ Cook/ Host (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAAugust 14, 2019
Work environment was fun. Very fast pace, could be stressful at times but you get the proper training you need. The schedule can sometimes be challenging and the hours are not always great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 13, 2019
Learned lots and had fun, definitely lots of oppurtunities working at In N Out Burger. Great company and takes care of the associates very well. Definitely would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work with many advancement opportunities
Associate (Former Employee) –  Atascadero, CAAugust 13, 2019
In-N-Out was was my first job and I'm very thankful for everything it taught me. I learned that the most important thing is to have a good overall attitude and to communicate with those around you in order to achieve common goals. I was very lucky to get to work with a majority of my friends so I definitely looked forward to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat environment, wonderful culture, and a true family-feel place to work.
Level 3 Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingman, AZ 86409August 13, 2019
Wonderful advancement opportunities, but you have to really push for it. By far the best benefits of any company I've ever worked for before. Extremely flexible with second job or schooling schedules. Management could learn to collaborate more with each other to stay all on the same page. Wonderful company owner who provides annual company picnic, company party for meeting sales goals. Truly a wonderful place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and a great team
Level 6 Associate (Former Employee) –  Canyon Country, CAAugust 12, 2019
In n Out was a great place to work out through college. I loved the people I met and management was always very supportive of school. The hardest part was just how physically demanding it could be on your body but the time passes by quickly. They have great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Cook (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89123August 12, 2019
It was alright and I learned a lot about customer service being nice to customers and all that. And some managers are cranky and some are really sweet and nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Grill cook (Former Employee) –  Manteca, CAAugust 12, 2019
make many friends as you work. pay very well for no experience. many opportunities to move up in the company. they have alot of company parties and fun family days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In n out is a great place to work
In-N-Out Associate (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTAugust 11, 2019
I love working at in n out burger, but i feel like I’m not going anywhere. I feel like I’m not getting trained at all because I transferred stores and I feel like I’m being treated unfairly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment working alongside great people with a hard work ethic.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CAAugust 11, 2019
I learned exceptional customer service skills and how to multi-task. I was able to advance in the company fast, earning raises, and was at the highest position possible without becoming a manager. The people that work there are all a part of an amazing team and keep a positive attitude even in the worst of times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job with opportunity for advancement
Associate (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CAAugust 10, 2019
It was stressful at times but they have great opportunity for advancement and the pay is pretty great in management. They are willing to be flexible for the most part with your hours if you are a student but they are open late and sometimes you have to close.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job!
Customer service associate (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 8, 2019
This is a great job with plenty opportunity for growth. There is opportunity for consistent raises and they are extremely flexible with schedules. The wage is relatively higher than other jobs and you can be trained into management within 2 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work environment, constant advancement opportunities
Level 4 Associate (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 8, 2019
In-N-Out is a great place to learn about customer service. You also have a chance for advancement/raise every month or so. They are great with training and offering incentives to the employees.
It is a VERY fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAAugust 8, 2019
I think places thrive when they have proper store managers & in n out has that. They love their employees & customers the same. They make working there feel like a family environment and have cool events for their employees annually.
Pros
Great managers
Cons
No full time for cashiers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job to have.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Santa Maria, CAAugust 7, 2019
Best job to start off at. Best environment and best people to work with. The hours we gat are both flexible with all of our schedules outside of work as well as inside work, and while we serve 100% organic food we do it with the biggest smiles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, highly compensated
Level 4 Associate (Former Employee) –  Hanford, CAAugust 6, 2019
Working at In-n-Out was not easy, however the pay was in accordance to the work. They had a strict dress coded, and every aspect of the job had guide lines to follow. The managers varied, but usually they were also very strict.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAAugust 6, 2019
If you're a student with an upbeat personality this will be a really great fit for you. The work environment is relaxed, fun, but also maintains a sense of professionalism. Well organized. Management is firm but kind. Lots of opportunities for growth. Employee interaction is pleasant for the most part. Nurtures their employees and does little things to make them feel appreciated.
Pros
free lunch, just compensation, fun environment
Cons
can get stressful d/t volume and demand of work, some interactions get unprofessional bc friends work together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job
Level 5 Crew (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CAAugust 6, 2019
This job was one of the best jobs I have ever had. They treat you very well, the pay is great, promotions are always available, you can take paid time off and sick leave as well.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would recommend as a first job or career
Level 6 Associate (Former Employee) –  Pico Rivera, CAAugust 5, 2019
In-N-Out is a company that truly cares about their employees. They give their associates gifts for Christmas and take them on company outings.They are very strict which is why i would recommend it as a first job, they teach you about responsibility and being accountable for your actions. If interested in going into management, it is worth it here because the pay is good and work-life balance is fair.
Pros
they give recognition where recognition is due
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at In-N-Out Burger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 1,657 reviews
51.1K
4417
3139
226
112

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight