Kmart Employee Reviews

Found 17,662 reviews matching the search See all 19,139 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No raises ever
Slave (Former Employee) –  IowaJune 19, 2019
You will never get a raise. They do not have matching 401K. Insurance will cost you at least $400 a month just for you.That is with a $5000 deductible. Lucky to get a break. If you get sick in the middle of the night and can't come to work you will get written up, even with a doctor's excuse. You punch out for lunch at the front registers so you will be helping customers during your lunch break as you make your way back to the employee lounge.They have very little staff so when a customer sees you, you will be pounced upon. You are expected to follow all rules but if a customer complains to management they will cave and make you look like an idiot while you are then doing whatever the customer wanted. The management will hide. You are expected to unload even if you are 60 and normally work in the office. The air conditioning is controlled by corporate and it is usually in the 80s with high humidity in the summer.
Do not work here if unless you want to be worked like a horse, not make enough money to live on and want to be constantly berated. They will lie to you. Example: Your store closes and they offer you a severance package to get you to close the store down to the building being completely empty. It is very hard work. If you are lucky you will get 1 severance paycheck then they will cheat you out of the rest.
I could go on and on. JUST DON"T WORK THERE!
I did not get a raise for 8 years even though one year I got the highest points of everyone on the employee evaluations. When the store closed we were cheated out of our severance and pensions.
STAY AWAY!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything. See above.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Kmart Associate (Former Employee) –  Bellflower, CAJune 19, 2019
Good associates great attitudes had great hours very helpful people customers were great learned a lot great experience for me. Great hours and had good pay check.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Receiving Lead Associate (Current Employee) –  Mayagüez, PRJune 18, 2019
An otherwise nice and pleasant place to work turns into a stressfull place to work at due to bad management. Only 4 hours a week for part time employees. Single full time employees doing the work asigned for 4 employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work for.
Shipping & Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 18, 2019
A fast pace business enjoy working for this company.Nice employer also manager were excellent and polite towards the employer.The paid was decent and that was good. I would do it all over again.
Pros
Free lunch every week.
Cons
Short breaks, hot place also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
CASHIER/CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 18, 2019
Workplace was very productive, the most enjoyable part of the job was greeting customers, offering my help. A typical day at work was helping customers with online orders, scanning items, cash handling, counting money after every shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  FarmingvilleJune 18, 2019
Generally due to employees it was an amazing opportunity for myself, learning all aspects of store as well as management places and backroom.. Management at the time was very unprofessional and unorganized as well as unfair to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Langhorne, PAJune 18, 2019
And it's on that I was working that had so much fun I'm at new people news. Is great customer service I was back and forth on the floor get to seasonal doing my thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy retail store, crossed trained in different departments, had many managers.
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Delano, CAJune 18, 2019
Very Fast Pace,
I learned diffrent jobs rolls and skills
Had many managers, some had great leader ship
Need some improvement in the workplace culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Loss Prevention Agent (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJune 18, 2019
I enjoyed working there, my coworkers were all good and cooperative with me, Always willing to help me out when i needed it. I would go back if I got paid more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store closed.
Store Manager / Multi Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAJune 17, 2019
Stores closed. The leadership at Kmart was very poor. Most were in leadership positions only because the were friends with higher leaders.
This company closed stores because of POOR leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company That Lost Its Way
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJune 17, 2019
Kmart was a company that had goals and expectations. Unfortunately lost track of what was important. It was a company that I had shopped at when I was younger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working will the asociates
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 17, 2019
Sorry that the store closed, but enjoyed the staff and associates. Some days were hard, but most days were good. Liked interacting with the customers and associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here was the worst six months of my life.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAJune 17, 2019
If you care about your sanity, please do not work here. Management sucks, there is a HIGH turn over rate, and it's just depressing there. Other than that, the employees are nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job Role
Merchandise Claims Associate (Former Employee) –  Camden, SCJune 16, 2019
Typical workday included, scanning and packing returned, expired, or damaged items. Entered number of boxes into system and printed shipping labels. A few days a week helped unload merchandise truck. Also, assisted in receiving and checking in merchandise.
Pros
Worked more independently
Cons
low wage no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisora de Cajera, Asst. Recursos Humanos, contabilidad
Supervisora de cajeros, Recursos Humanos (Former Employee) –  Caguas, PRJune 16, 2019
Contabilidad- cuadre de las cajeras , preparar los depositos del dia y hacer el cuadre de la contabilidad del dia. Despachar cambio para las cajeras, recogido de exceso de dinero.

Recursos Humanos- Reclutar personal , hacer horarios, tabular vacaciones acumuladas.

Supervisora de caja- supervisar a mas de 15 cajeras, proveerle cambio, ayudarle en alguna duda.
Pros
1 hora de almuerzo
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs
Department Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Athens, ALJune 16, 2019
I worked register, ordered merchandise and put merchandise out onto the sales floor. I would set up for the Sunday sales ad. I was also in charge of doing my department's new layouts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 16, 2019
Working at Kmart wasn’t what i expected, the managers didn’t care about staff long as someone was there to cover shifts , i didn’t enjoy working there at all
Pros
None
Cons
Management didn’t care for staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided flexible work schedule
Retail and cashier (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJune 16, 2019
A typical day in Softlines at Kmart would be go backs from the front desk and receiving. It was always slow and a mess, so straightening fixtures was mandatory.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no discount, no benefits, bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Marys, OHJune 16, 2019
Management was awesome. I learned a lot working for this place. I just wish it didn't close. I was in several different departments and was the lead person in most of them.
Pros
Discounts. Management
Cons
Store closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible glad they went out of business
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 15, 2019
I work in the most ghetto Kmart ever in Miami Florida at 107 and Biscayne boulevard The employees were ghetto rude obnoxious. the management was very picky who they gave hours to. They work you like a slave while they socialized on their phones walked around and did nothing this is management the supervisors the managers doing that.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 19,139 reviews
54.8K
44.8K
35.3K
22.2K
12K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss