Kohl's Employee Reviews

Found 17,994 reviews matching the search See all 18,035 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my work.
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 19, 2019
Depending on management there is room to grow. If you have a great management team: they will provide the tools and knowledge you'll need to succeed (there is a lot of coaching/ training/ e-learnings). They will definitely invest time in your development. Its not as common but i know some stores will stop certain individuals from growing, if that's the case its up to the associate to seek growth in other stores if they want a future with the company.
Pros
Benifits: abenity, 401k, sick time, breaks, culture
Cons
Dealing with grab and runs, salary, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and charismatic atmosphere.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDJune 19, 2019
During my short time of working there it was definitely a warm and inviting work place. not only were my coworkers friendly but the customers treated us with respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For me as a visual manager I had a great set schedual but the salary was not great.
Visual Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Diberville, MSJune 19, 2019
As a visual manager there was a great work environment. The job allowed me to be hands on with every department. I knew when new products would come in as well as I was informed ahead of time on how to set them up in the store. The only flaw was that I was not compensated for the amount of work that was done for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work BUT...
I can’t say (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 19, 2019
Here’s the thing...Kohl’s is a nice company but the problem is if you’re a Beauty advisor there you “have to” do everyone else’s job,you have to be a cashier,be at jewelry (which I don’t do) and I will tell you why...it’s just not fair!!! It’s not fair you take jewelry costumers when the jewelry person is somewhere else gossiping & hanging around and not doing her job,so my point is you gotta be a butt kisser to work there and if you’re not (like me for example) don’t apply!!! Cause you might last there but everyone will hate you!!
Pros
Break times
Cons
managers that don’t do anything but walk around to see what you’re doing!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and enviornment
CUSTOMER SERVICE SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Collinsville, ILJune 19, 2019
Very flexible on hours. Great culture to work around. The hardest part of the job is dealing will difficult customers. Would recommend working here you're wanting to make extra money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rancho San Diego, CAJune 19, 2019
Working at Kohl's you gain a lot of experience working with different types of people. It gives you a chance to practice excellent customer service skills as well as giving you a fun place to work. They expect excellence and expect nothing less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Freight Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ILJune 19, 2019
Very easy part time job, management was relaxed, music was played in the back every morning and you were not expected to work at any pace. The only down sides were the pay was awful and the work was mindlessly boring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Garner, NCJune 19, 2019
Employees who look forward to coming to work each day and who interact with coworkers in a collaborative and collegial manner create a positive workplace. They act on the belief that their working relationships have a positive impact on the employment relationship, particularly when they sustain good working relationships with their supervisors and managers. Employees with an enthusiastic approach to work usually are described as fully engaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job
MJM Associate (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHJune 19, 2019
I loved doing the jobs this did and helping customer's they enjoyed my help also I had received a customer service award pin for doing a great job in helping the customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New Port RicheyJune 18, 2019
Don’t get paid what your worth. No benefits.
Nice group of people to work with.
Can only be part time. The store is very hot.
Great discounts though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee) –  San AntonioJune 18, 2019
Worked here 3 years and they wanted to train me on every job to work and fix mess ups but no extra pay. Then after you do all the work no advancement because it's all about who you know and who is with who.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time retail job with no advancement opportunities
Point of Sale Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Severna Park, MDJune 18, 2019
It was a part-time retail job that would not adequately reward hard work. Part timers are expendable and learning new skills or positions is not compensated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't
Ship from Store Associate and Freight Associate (Current Employee) –  Millbury, MAJune 18, 2019
They give you a lot of hours when you are first hired and during Christmas season. After Christmas, it is like the Sahara Desert, one week you will have 7 hours the next, maybe 20 if you are lucky. It's either feast or famine. Management is awful and unprofessional. I would like to say that they are on separate pages, but that is being kind, they are in different books. They try to mess with your breaks (which is illegal) and never say good job or thank you to the people that work their butts off/ stay past their shift to finish the truck. The one thing they all care about is numbers. The store runs on credit, credit, credit. If you have any self respect or care about someone who is thinking about applying tell them not to. This is coming from someone who wasted three years with this company and whose soul has gotten sucked out of them.
Pros: you can use sick time and request as many days off as you want if you are part -time. Some people that work there are cool. Good discounts throughout the year.
Cons: Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Employee
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Quakertown, PAJune 18, 2019
This is your average retail job. I worked here during the Christmas holiday. Very busy store. Great discounts, very good with employee breaks. Clean and friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here 3 years- I would know.
Jewelry Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAJune 18, 2019
It is true that Kohls prefers to promote/hire from within. If you want an upper scale job, you have to put in the time. I started as a cashier and ended at a jewelry supervisor position. Im sure if i stayed longer, I would've been a manager by now. The only downside is if you re apply you probably would have to start from scratch. I met a girl who was a department supervisor and decided to leave. When she decided to work there again, she was a floor associate. The best part were the people. Im still friends with lots of them to this day. Management could be fun from time to time but it was the customers that really made work tough. I gave four stars because I rarely had those situations but when they did come around, I hated them. (I also had a role in customer service before i was the jewelry supervisor). Kohl's still has a place in my heart. I worked with many genuine hardworking people. I gotta say though, the pay was horrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Merchandising & Freight (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PA 15146June 18, 2019
The management is pretty fair and does a reasonably good job. The hours you get are limited unless you are full time. You can make a career here if there are openings to do so. Pay is not high but coworkers and job responsibilities are reasonable
Pros
coworkers and job responsibilties
Cons
not enough hours and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere!
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Angola, INJune 18, 2019
I enjoyed working at Kohl's. The holiday season was extremely busy which was exhilarating and made the time go quickly. There's something about that time of year that makes most people very festive and pleasant!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIJune 18, 2019
Great management. Great co-workers. Employee discount. Flexible work hours. Employee recognition when recognized. Overall a great place to work for always.
Pros
Gift cards.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place for a first job with some extras
Cashier Supervisor/Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Shawnee, KSJune 18, 2019
This company was friendly and helpful for new hires. They are very good at training you for the position you work and are willing to promote you and give you extras jobs to do
Cons
employee discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Turlock, CAJune 18, 2019
Very flexibility in hours. Kohls is a friendly place to work with great management team. Kohls cares about their associates and customers. I loved my time at Kohls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kohl's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18,035 reviews
55.8K
45.6K
34.2K
21.4K
11K

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Kohl's.

Powered by Comparably