Play YouTube video button

Ochsner Health System Employee Reviews

Found 1,493 reviews matching the search See all 1,512 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Ochsner Health System selected this as a representative review
Ochsner is a professional place to begin a career
Staff RN/ Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 6, 2019
Ochsner is patient oriented. They do accept input from the staff and implement changes if needed. Ochsner does have multiple opportunities over various locations. They have developed a culture of diversity and work to help staff realize their full potential.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The department I was in worked under the "buddy system". Very unprofessional and unpleasant work experience.
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 20, 2019
The worst working experience in my 28 years of healthcare. Management in the department I worked in is unprofessional and dishonest. There is no accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible department management
Senior Revenue Cycle rep (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 17, 2019
Ochsner is overall a good place to work. Depends on what department you are in. When I began there it was great, then management changed and it was horrible. Turnover in the department was the highest it had ever been. I always wondered why upper management did not look into the situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talk the talk
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJuly 17, 2019
They preach patient care is number one. However, the all might dollar wins out again. Shady employees. HR blind to things that happen. They need to clean house! It’s a real Peyton Place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Patient Access Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 13, 2019
Awesome co-workers and management and patients. Gained great experience along with learning so much that I carried with me. Great benefits. I really enjoyed working at Ochsner .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Slidell, LAJuly 11, 2019
Great place to work only thought about leaving to be closer to home. The Ochsner staff really cares about their patients and give a high level of care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for and retire from
Environmental Service Aide (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 10, 2019
they give you opportunity for growth and pay for you to better educate your self take good care of they employees and promote with in and gives you chances to move to another department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture, Patient Safety and People are the Priority
Director (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 10, 2019
I've worked for a few health systems in the area, but am so pleased to work for Ochsner. We have a strong culture with a big focus on high quality, accountability, and putting patient's first. We have excellent leaders, and pathways for front-line staff to engage in professional development to reach their career goals. We have great benefits, state-of-the-art resources, and although we have difficulties like any hospital in the healthcare industry, I really am proud to work for Ochsner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but educational
Surgery Department Unit Educator (Current Employee) –  SurgeryJuly 9, 2019
This is the hospital that I grew up in as a nurse. I feel like it is home for me. I have learned a lot here because the patient acuity is quite high and very sick patients come here from the surrounding areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ol’ boys club
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 8, 2019
Tread lightly if you are not white. I reported ill treatment of women & poc to no avail. While the company has policies in place to facilitate a welcoming environment, management does not abide by these policies. The company* also pays white men and women more. I have receipts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful. Great Place to work
Certified Healthcare Patient Access Associate (Current Employee) –  Covington, LAJuly 5, 2019
I love everything about this job. The Co-workers, the Doctors and the patients. The job in close to home. I have experience in all areas of Patient Access and have knowledge of my job duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Administrative Assistant to Chief of Ophthalmology (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LA 70121July 3, 2019
I love working at Ochsner. I just would like to be closer to home.Everyone that I have met here has been very friendly and family oriented. The parking is the only down fall.
Pros
family oriented
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt like family
PATIENT ACCESS REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 1, 2019
Ochsner will be a global medical and academic leader who will change and save lives. We will shape the future of healthcare through our integrated health system, fueled by the passion and strength of our diversified team of physicians and employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful workplace
Cardiac Monitor Technician (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 30, 2019
The team I was tasked to was very helpful and friendly. Communication is key to work in the environment I was in. Team building made it much more enjoyable to be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Medical Coding Analyst (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 29, 2019
Ochsner is an ideal organization to work for because we are like a family. It is more than just a job or career, it is a way of life or a lifestyle. I enjoy the people that I work with and the high level at which we operate.
Pros
Access to Excellent Healthcare/Lots of fun activities inside and outside of the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 25, 2019
Love working in a collaborative environment. Great work/life balance. Always feel supported by management. Opportunities to grow and advance in leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not do it.
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 22, 2019
Apply elsewhere. It's an awful place to work. Ochsner's main campus is in serious need of a new, educatively qualified, staff of employees. Filthy!!!
Pros
Not a college graduate nor skilled, you'll get a job there.
Cons
Other than to some of the DR's and RN's, it is Career Damaging Behavior's against the college grad and highly skilled Tech's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare facility
Director - Facilities Services (Former Employee) –  Hancock County, MSJune 21, 2019
I increased my knowledge and experience during my time at Ochsner. A typical day is ensuring safe, effective operation of a healthcare facility and outpatient clinics including facilities department, EVS, Safety, and Security. Having worked here for 14 years it felt like a family with the core employees that remained at hospital for that length of time as well. I learned new computer programs including payroll, scheduling and work orders. I honed my skills in problem solving and multi tasking. The hardest part of my job was seeing long term employees outsourced to contract companies although as a director I understood the overall benefits to the organization by having done so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Patient Care Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 20, 2019
It was a great opportunity but the staffing was always short and that will consist of making A person very overwhelmed with the assignment there are assigned too. I enjoyed taking care of Patients So I gave it my all no matter what the patient care load was. Overall it was a beautiful experience working for Ochsner Health System.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, constantly changing
Patient Access Rep (Former Employee) –  Covington, LAJune 20, 2019
I learned a lot being employed with Ochsner - some good, and others not so good. Management was wishy washy and took forever to be restructured. Once it finally was, it was great! Workplace environment is a mixture of fun, stressful, and at times it was uncomfortable. Most enjoyable part was the few coworkers I got extremely close too, and also helping patients. Hardest part of the job was not being able to get up from your desk much without getting punished for it.
Pros
Helping patients
Cons
Seeing the back end of how the entire process works
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great plave to work
Professional Fees Coding Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2019
Ochsner Health Systems, through the variety of hospital locations and outpatient locations, provides a wealth of opportunity for professional growth. Competitive salary and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ochsner Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,512 reviews
5621
4436
3270
278
1107

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight