Panera Bread Employee Reviews

Found 12,536 reviews matching the search See all 12,665 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Panera Bread selected this as a representative review
Productive Place
Panera Bread Associate (Former Employee) –  Hopkinsville, KYFebruary 11, 2019
I enjoyed working here, and I made a lot of new friends. It also helped me maintain good customer service habits, and has made it easier for me to conversate with people in other jobs.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep scrolling, they’re the worst!
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2019
Great perk is the free food, other than that can’t really say many positive things. They don’t promote very often and when they do, you will probably be relocated to somewhere far from your desired area of town. No late hours but very early mornings (as early as 3am). Very high turnover rate for managers and hourly employees, so you get what you signed up for.
Pros
Free bagels and pastries
Cons
Working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stresfull, but fun environment, no set schedule, tough to get days off
Manager (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, VAJuly 21, 2019
I work the hours i am supposed to work in a clean, friendly environment. I am paid a typical management salary, but we dont seem to do raises, even for cost of living. Benefits are good.
I, however, have no set schedule and am at the whim of my GM if Oneed a day off. I have no regular days or times off. I just have a great GM!
We work with lots of students, high school and college, if that is helpful to know.
Pros
Environment, good managers, people are happy to work there
Cons
No breaks for managers, no set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad work experience
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 21, 2019
A VERY BAD WORK ENVIRONMENT THEY HAVE NO communication between management and staff
Always changing the schedule without asking staff or anything they don’t know how to treat staff right
Pros
We still had to pay for our lunch
Cons
Very short breaks because other staff needed help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
sales associate (Current Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAJuly 21, 2019
I dreaded every shift. Management is terrible and plays favorite. The company is more concerned about making money than about helping their employees. The pay is definitely not enough for the amount of work you are required to do. Meals are 50% off, not free. Overall a miserable, miserable place to work at. Do not apply here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unacheveable labor goals
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 21, 2019
on any given night the manager is required to monitor labor. the goals are unrealistic and in order to achieve them, the manager is often required to run the store while short staffed requiring the manager to work their job plus two others
Pros
free food
Cons
often required to work your job and three others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 21, 2019
Pay isn’t the best out there, but if you can find the right cafe to fit into its a fun place to work. They do make a lot of changes within the company and can be frustrating at times. Management pays decent. Drivers actually make pretty good money, depending on the area I guess. I would go back if I needed to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse first job experience
Associate Trainer/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 21, 2019
Horrible management bad pay extremely hot I do not recommend this job at all only thing that kept me there and sane were my coworkers who I became very close with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for go getting young people.
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  West Mifflin, PAJuly 21, 2019
If you are young and motivated into doing your job, Panera will reward you if you are under the right manager. They believe in getting their managers within their ranks. You must buy into their system and they will be watching. They have cameras everywhere and they review them. Teams and individuals will be worked and they like their cafes clean. They like for their employees to be cross trained too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in
ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  East Meadow, NYJuly 20, 2019
working at Panera taught me how to handle money and work with costumers. The work environment is very good and the management and staff is very friendly. the most enjoyable part of the job is satisfying the costumers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day or could be a dead one, learned that gratuity is not part of service for many. Management was great and workplace culture was terrific.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSJuly 20, 2019
Delivery drivers at Panera have a flexible schedule but the pay is ridiculously low. When delivering its $5/ hr, $0.35/ mile and gratuity. Good luck if you are in a area where gratuity is not part of their culture. Then you will be paying yourself to go to work. Panera should really look into this, and if customers complain because order was wrong and cancels it, poor driver just did a free service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of the job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAJuly 20, 2019
I was given only two hours of work at one point and knew it was illegal to be working 4 hours or less. I was also the only runner that would be running every plate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, good enviroment on the surface, bad underneath.
Panera Bread Associate (Current Employee) –  Edgewater, MDJuly 20, 2019
A typical day at work consisted of clocking in and getting right to work. Like all places, you weren't allowed to stand still unless it was absolutely dead. I learned a lot about working with customers and other people, as well as standards a food place should hold themselves up to. However, management was always very detrimental about calling out. If you didn't have a reason to give your shift to someone, you weren't allowed to do it. If you called out, and nobody offered to cover you, that was on you as well, even if you were states away. Calling out while you were sick or injured, they required a doctors note (mind you, this is a part-time job, so no insurance to pay for these doctors visits), and still asked you to find someone to cover you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor restaurant/management
employee (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCJuly 20, 2019
this place is full of people who are very aggressive and rude. the management team is very unresponsive/uncaring. new employees are verbally insulted and intimidated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Terrible job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cape Girardeau, MOJuly 19, 2019
The pay is terrible and the managers have favorites. No job should have that, but they do. Only certain people receive raises or are advanced in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For high school kids or j1
Crew Trainer (Former Employee) –  Ocean City, MDJuly 19, 2019
It is a very easy job just doing the same thing over and over again but there is opportunity to move up in the company I have nothing bad to say about the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s decent
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Skokie, ILJuly 19, 2019
Good for high chool kids. Super easy work. You can advance as long as you show the work. Managers work like slaves but the coworkers make it worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,fast paced enviroment
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hazel Dell South, WAJuly 19, 2019
Always very fun place to be, work flow is never too heavy. The basic parts of the job are food prep, food making, cashier, kiosk, drive thru, and our dining room.
Pros
Great staff and managers
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced
Associate (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 19, 2019
Its a fun job, reliable for hours. its prety quick paces when your short staffed. Some customers are very rude , but its helped me with my patience problem. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers find new items to try, or helping them save money when they have a MyPanera card.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Panera can do way better than they do when it comes to their employees.
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Austell, GAJuly 19, 2019
I'm from Jersey, born and raised. To survive the everyday you have to work. At least two jobs. My experience at Panera was in the state of Geargia. Needless to say, " never in my work history have I ever had a job where the managers take pride in bringing down there employees instead of appreciating the hard good hard work they put in. " And will tell you to your face. The only time proper procedure is taken in and enforced, is when their bosses is in the store. Its funny, everything taught at " planet bread " ( orientation before work ) about the rights and wrong of the company and store policy for all employees. Just about all managers disregard or act exempt for the rules. Only the in store managers !! The Panera Bread company is actually a really good brand. They really have to step it up on oversight on managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are nice, but pay is not the best
Trainer (Former Employee) –  1808 Tamiami Trail Suite C,July 19, 2019
Team members are really nice and help each other, payment was not the best there. It is a good starter job, but not a full-time job. learned the core mechanics of customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Panera Bread. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 12,665 reviews
53.1K
43.9K
33.3K
21.3K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight