Publix Employee Reviews

Found 12,810 reviews matching the search See all 12,865 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach Gardens, FLJune 19, 2019
It is a very good place for starters, although the salary is small but since there is room for advancement you don't need to worry.

It is a fun place, there is collaboration between workers, there's never a dull period until closing time.
Pros
long break
Cons
unpredictable schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAJune 19, 2019
Working for Publix taught me how to deal with people that are either very nice and happy or mean and argumentative. We always needed to treat everyone with respect no matter how they are treating the employees. Publix also helped me learn how to preform premier customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good company to work for
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJune 19, 2019
Managers are flexible the availability is flexible I have been with this company for 11 years and they also have good benefits. Getting full time is very hard but I am a part timer
Pros
Flexible Schedules good benefits
Cons
Bad Management, Favoritism, Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job loved it
Maintenance cordinater (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJune 19, 2019
Greatest place to work retired after 30 years if you work hard you can advance in the company started at the bottom and worked my way to the job that I retired from love this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Publix
Publix Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJune 19, 2019
Come in do my morning routine put down mats greet customers ask them did they find everything they were looking for and if they didn’t I would go out my way in helping them find it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 19, 2019
I enjoyed being a bakery sales clerk fast paced kept busy met a lot of people. You get to know the regular customers. Part of the job was learning how to decorate baked goods. Taking orders over the phone. Holidays were very fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly managers and associates, familt oriented
Floral Specialist Publix (Former Employee) –  Lithia Pinecrest, Shops of LithiaJune 19, 2019
I retired from Publix and really miss atmosphere and people and excellent benefits. Publix goes beyond what is necessary to make their customers happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Publix the Fairy Land
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJune 19, 2019
Publix Supermarkets Inc is a national icon here in Florida. When people come to Florida they are told of the high quality products, unbeatable subs, it's business culture and premier customer service. They claim to be a great place to work and when you first step into the doors you believe it. They bewitch you with this lovely fairy tale of how you will never be disrespected or demeaned by management. You will be treated with dignity. Advancement is fair, timely and a tangible goal. That they care about you. The truth of the matter is that the fairy tale is just that, a fairy tale, fantasy.

Higher tier management do demean their employees, sometimes even do so in front of others such as a Regional Manager here in Vero Beach. District Management dismiss complaints and concerns and cite company doctrine and act as if nothing is wrong but the employee's attitude. Store management dangle advancement over your head then when it is in reach they pull it away.

Advancement is not fair but circumstantial. Many excellent employees have left, even managers due to this. Business politics exist here same as any company. The deli is poorly mismanaged, understaffed, treated with little to no respect and is a career sinkhole for anyone not in their store manager's favor. The only way out is up. This is not the fault of the department managers but the store and corporate chain. If you do not get promoted expect a long an dreadful career.

The benefits are superb however but to sing praises for them would be wrong. They are what should be expected from any business in America. They
  more... do what is right and expected in this regard and little more. Any other benefit to employees such as extra pay on Sunday and inventory bonuses, benefits put in place by the renown founder, have been taken away and the benefits given to the corporate level employees thus removing any incentive to work at high volume stores.

A novel could be written given how much of Publix Supermarkets Inc is a fiction, fantasy, a lie. Employees suffer at great expense to their mental and financial health to continuously deliver George W Jenkin's dream. A quick conversation or look into the employee's community sites will yield such insight. The current leadership is very much focused on their own wealth and slowly turning the company into another run of the mill corporate grocery store. George W. Jenkin's dream and legacy is in very real danger of dying unless the current leadership is replaced with those few bright and fresh minds who are fighting to keep their head afloat in hopes of being recognized. But from my five years experience, my personal experiences I am afraid that this fairy tale will not have a happy ending.
  less
Pros
Competitive benefits, stock options, private.
Cons
Corporate business management and model, corporate does not take accountability for ineffective policies, ineffective policies, products and procedures stay in place for years with no review or revision, stressful, advancement process is a lie, stingy with hours, management is demeaning and disrespectful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at Publix
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Plantation, FLJune 19, 2019
My Typical day at Publix started when I turned the light of my register, I asked customers how the day is, and how the shopping experience was. If they have a complain I tried to fixed it, but if I couldn't I find a manager to help them resolve the problem.
When the store was too busy, I learned to multitask.
Management was very supportive and Great.
The hardest part of the job was that I couldn't get more hours.
The most enjoyable part of the job was when I get a compliment from a customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place good people
Administrative Coordinator I (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 19, 2019
This place is a good place to work and make money but sometimes the calls are not the best. Prepare to be micromanaged like you've never been micromanaged before. I would recommend it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hoover, ALJune 19, 2019
one of the best jobs i ever had because of the employees to the managers all the way down to the customers it was a family friendly based company they have alot of different ways for you to advance in the company
Pros
discounted lunch long breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Publix is a family
Customer Service Staff (Former Employee) –  New Bern, NCJune 19, 2019
I didn't have the best customer service managers for my Publix career, but I would definitely work for the company again if there was one locally to where I am now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for the most part
GROCERY CLERK (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaJune 19, 2019
Very rarely do managers not help but talking to them about it fixes that quickly. Publix as a company is phenomenal and I recommend working there. Minimum age to apply is 14.
Pros
Flexible, discounts for many other businesses, employee coupons, hour breaks
Cons
Sometimes working hours are cut
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Customer Service/Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, GAJune 19, 2019
a fast learner, pay attention to details and a people person, gets along well with co-worker, i was advanced wiyh in nine months.a good place to work at.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
health ins took to long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Publix Culture
Associate (Former Employee) –  Publix AtlantaJune 19, 2019
Great place to work with great associates. You are expected to accomplish goals and are given some support. Customer service is very important and is one the highest priorites.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good company to start off as my first job
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLJune 19, 2019
the bagging was really easy to learn on how to bag correctly and how everything should be bagged.
Getting carts is a little tough but get it done quick when its a slow day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dock Person (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 19, 2019
Working for publix company was a pleasure from the start. The benefits they offer to their employees are awesome you can own part of the company with the employee stock purchase program and, everyone truly cares about the employees there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a safe area to work, sarcastic managers
cashier (Former Employee) –  Cutler bay, MiamiJune 18, 2019
When management chance it went down hill from 30 hrs went to 9 or 12 hrs per wk manager had favorites , comments and complains were ignore,will never go back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, friendly environment
Front Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach Gardens, FLJune 18, 2019
Helping customers with groceries and answering questions. Keeping our work space clean. Returning carts from the parking lot to the store. Keeping the parking lot clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy tech
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  North Augusta, SCJune 18, 2019
The pharmacy would be consistently busy and for a 5-9 hour shift you would work stations, rotating every two hours. Normally, there weren't breaks or lunches unless you wanted to take one, but then your time would be cut.
Pros
hours
Cons
no breaks/lunches, constantly busy, retail environment, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Publix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12,865 reviews
56.1K
43.8K
32K
2527
1419

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight