Sam's Club Employee Reviews

Found 15,314 reviews matching the search See all 16,967 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but could be better starting with pay for hourly associates not on salary.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 19, 2019
Good place to work but low pay. Benefits of paid time off, 5 sicks days off a year. There also is alot of callouts since it's rather hard to get fired here and people take advantage of the system Walmart has here.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved my job at Sams club. I didn't want to leave.
Customer Service Supervisor/Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 19, 2019
I loved my job at Sams Club. I was treated with dignity and respect always. I made good money at that time . I received much training in all the areas that I worked. The management team was awesome and always willing to listen to your ideas. I had to leave due to an ill child that requirement my constant attention. I was very sad about it but I had to do what I needed for my family.
Pros
Fair wages, good management
Cons
I have none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and stressful work environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDJune 19, 2019
They constantly restructure positions for the best interests of the company. Jobs go away frequently and the days/hours you work can change at the drop of a hat. The store is normally understaffed and you are required to do your own job as well as help out every other department too. The company has pretty good medical benefits though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Baker / Packer (Former Employee) –  Harvey, LAJune 19, 2019
I really enjoyed working at Sam's club for as long as I did. It really taught me how to work in a fast paced environment. Also, it taught me how to work with other team members as a group. I would honestly like to work for this company again.
Pros
1 hour lunch, being able to socialize with customers
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun and great place to work for a while
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXJune 19, 2019
learned plenty about uprgrading and professional selling of mememberships and credit cards and giving great customer satisfaction and being a team player
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team environment
CLUB MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 19, 2019
No excuses for not getting the work done. Same result is expected even if you are short 20+ people. Expectations are very high. Transformations happening on a regular basis to compete with Amazon in the digital marketplace. Great people, high stress environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Sam's Club
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midwest City, OKJune 19, 2019
friendly environment
great training
great pay
management was amazing
never a stressful day working there
love going to work
love seeing the customers happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mang are rude an disrespectful to employee.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, INJune 19, 2019
Manger are rude. They lazy. They pick an choice who ever they like is the ones that get easy WK an whatever hrs they want. It's stressful because of poor mang. Every mang. Has a different rules. If they having a bad day you can garuntee you will. They let husband an wife WK together an one is a boss. Against rules they don't put her in as a cos in computer. They are fake an trouble making manger. The mang team doesn't know what the other mang even doing. Terrible change your schedule an don't even tell you. Put write you up for not being there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and overall fun place
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJune 19, 2019
I Loved working here I just felt there was more out there for me and the and they also had no retirement plan other than 401k which I am looking for in a long term work feild
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Latham, NYJune 19, 2019
work schedules are never the same managers are too busy to make schedule every day you have to ask to find out what days you work managers can't seem to find any time and their day to handle employee issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay for what it was
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJune 19, 2019
So I initially started out as a member order specialist (order puller). It was awesome! Met some great people. There is a lot of room for growth with the company but with the managers I had only brown nosers would move up. They offer great benefits as well.
Pros
Great benefits, room for advancement, decent pay
Cons
Messy management, hour cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sams Club
General Merchandise/ Electronics Lead (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAJune 19, 2019
Management was terrible here. The management had their favorites and only let those favorites get away with not doing certain tasks. The treatment of employee by management was terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work if you are a prople person
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 19, 2019
Management needs to learn all policies in all departments. Management need to be on one accord. When making changes , the company needs to be considerate of the employees needs as well. Happy workers better production. Company needs to not only listen to employees ideas and suggestions but, implementing them would most likely be beneficial. After all, employess have a better outlook on day to day operations because they are there doing the actual work.,Not prople that pass through from time to time. Not from those who sit behind corporate desk crunching numbers and only looking out for is best for the corporate pockets. Our options are asked but not recognized. And seniority needs to be recognized in any company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place. To work
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 19, 2019
I enjoyed my time with sams club i miss the atmosphere and the great people i worked with. I never felt like apart of a team until i joined sams club.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the job
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Clarksburg, WVJune 19, 2019
I enjoyed the job. I met lots of people and liked working with customers. They pushed selling their plus membership because it had extra benefits. They worked well with college schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer satisfaction.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2019
Good place for work. Excellent pay.
I like the team work and that customer service.
That company has good quality products.
The members like shopping there.
Pros
Teams work.
Cons
Health care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kenner, LA 70065June 19, 2019
They’re very strict when it comes to absences/tardies. If you keep up with that you should be good. Also as a cashier you’re encouraged to up-sell memberships that nobody wants but just asking them is enough depending on your manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees Matter
Customer Courtesy Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Secaucus, NJJune 18, 2019
great company to work for because they trully embrace diversity. Benefits are an excellent incentive and the work environment is welcoming. Cons are working holidays and weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging environment.
Meat team lead (department manager) (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJune 18, 2019
It is a fast paced company with high volume business and plenty of challenges and room for growth. A good place to work if you would like to learn a lot of different skills quick.
Pros
Free coffee and membership.
Cons
Hard to qualify for bonuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for College Students or Bored Retirees
Electronics Technician/ Tire and Battery (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJune 18, 2019
I worked at Sams Club for a little over a year as an Electronic Specialist and in the Tire and Battery Department.

It was a great gig- I would say that I was mostly happy with the way it ran.

It has a strong community feel to it and you eventually get very close to your customer base.

The only thing that wasn't happy with was how and when Walmart Inc decided to close over 63 locations and left many people without Jobs, Very little benefits and no guarantee of job transfer. Not to mention NO Notice of when it closed. I got a call and a "sorry- your out of a Job".

Now I understand that there is no such thing as true Job Security but Just keep in mind that it will, or could happen again if you get hired at this occupation.

My best advice to anyone considering this Job would to be to google other reviews and news coverage. Think about it- or go after another Job that would bring you true happiness.

Everyone I knew here, including myself was only content with their positions. Go after something that you want to be excited to do.

Another GREAT Company to work for would be AutoNation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sam's Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 16,967 reviews
54.8K
45.1K
34.4K
21.5K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

80%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

40%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss