Sonic Drive-In Employee Reviews

Found 14,945 reviews matching the search See all 14,972 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, constant moving, fun
Carhop/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, TXAugust 20, 2019
Working there for a few days short of a year was amazing, there was always something to do or something to clean for better customer experience. while i was there there was no dull moment cause the coworkers made it fun and interesting. A typical work day had its ups and downs but the more fun you had inside the store the more fun your customers had outside and made for happier customers. Management was not always the best and neither was training but its an easy concept job and shouldn't take long for anyone to grasp. The hardest part of the job is definitely dealing with the customers who try to tear you down however if you can make them smile it'll make your day ten times more enjoyable.
Pros
Understanding managers, tips, enjoyable coworkers
Cons
no health benefits, poor management, no paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work. (Temporary)
Drive In (Current Employee) –  Ewing, NJAugust 20, 2019
Working there is negative and positive. You have the younger crew who has no respect for their elders. Non stop gossip and we receive rude and ignorant customers.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Working for people who doesn't have your back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start off with
Sonic Carhop (Former Employee) –  Liberty Hill, TXAugust 20, 2019
the job is fairly easy and not hard at all. the management is fairly nice and funny. I would recommend working here as a start off job just to get the experience needed for other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, overbearing place to work with little training but high expectations
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CAAugust 20, 2019
When I was trained (if you'd call it that) I was told to follow the employ around and learn what they did. They did not do that. In fact, I spent most time doing simple tasks such as stocking cups, but suddenly was expected to work on school days constantly and do tasks I had never been taught on a whim with my lack of training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Camden, TNAugust 20, 2019
Great place to work. Love working there but takes a long time to get a pay increase. The people are amazing and friendly, the food is great, and the environment makes you feel like you belong there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
East Prairie, MO Sonic Drive -In
Cook (Former Employee) –  East Prairie, MOAugust 20, 2019
At first it was okay work environment and then once everyone got comfortable is when things went downhill. The younger staff (men) would make inappropriate comments to me,I would report it, only for it to go in one ear and out the other. My claims went unfiled and handled by the owner. What didn't help me was that the guys who were making the comments,were close personal friends with the owner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotions and Raises.
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Columbia, TNAugust 20, 2019
My employer at Sonic Drive-in was nice but seemed to have issues with following through on promotions and raises to people whom had earned such things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, high energy, quick- paced job
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, TXAugust 20, 2019
I enjoyed working at Sonic because there was always business. I loved getting into a rhythm and being able to work efficiently. I also loved interacting with people and you have the opportunity to make really good tips. The hardest part of the job is dealing with rude people- but that happens everywhere.
Pros
flexible hours, depends on the management and location
Cons
short breaks, on your feet the whole shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sonic is a very good up and running franchise
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Ellisville, MSAugust 20, 2019
Sonic was a fast paced working place that met its goals and continued to be clean and high on labor it was a nice work environment and always was organized when it came to having meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job i ever had
Carhop/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSAugust 20, 2019
I done worked a lot of places but this is a job I loved 4.25 for carhops who dont skate and 5.00 if you do
But I love my managers my employees my customers all the Above the longest job I stay at because I love it just that much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Conway, ARAugust 19, 2019
I really engoy working there. I have learn to work at a fast pace. Customer service is a need while working at any job where you interact with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend working at sonic.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Baldwyn, MSAugust 19, 2019
Wasn’t very clean. Nobody used gloves. No one had very good hygiene habits. Management was very chaotic and they didn’t really know what they were doing. They’re also not organized very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn’t very hard for me to learn everything and keep up with everything
Sonic Carhop (Former Employee) –  Barling, ARAugust 19, 2019
It was a very easy job for me and I loved the people I worked with were amazing people it was like a second family for me there I loved our customers it was a small town sonic where everyone knew everyone!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Dt cashier (Former Employee) –  Palmetto, FL 34221August 19, 2019
When I was working with sonic it became difficult to keep up with all of their technology but within a week or two I got use to all of it, including how fast-paced it was.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a Job
Kitchen Cook and Carhop (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXAugust 19, 2019
Not much to say, working there was just like working at any other fast food restaurant. Pay was minimum wage and there weren't any benefits, treatment by the customers was poor as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Carhop (Former Employee) –  3944 Ryan St.August 19, 2019
My problem was the coworkers..they always talked about people and made slick comments towards me. Being 15 at the time I just kept my mouth closed but eneded up getting fired anyway. One girl got fired because everyone said she was rude which was a lie. Depends on if they like you are not for your experince. Another girl who went to school with me got fired after only 2 weeks or less working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Part time
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Hialeah Gardens, FLAugust 19, 2019
A work day in Sonics always depended on the day and hour but it can get pretty busy with it busy the mangers help everyone through the rush and gets all the food out in time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Ashdown, ARAugust 19, 2019
If you can help it, don't work fast food ever. At Sonic you will be underpaid and there are little to no benefits of working there other than making friends who will slip you a free drink from time to time. You get 50 percent off your meal if you're on the clock and nothing if you're off the clock. However with how expensive the prices are you're basically paying for a regularly priced meal and the food itself is low quality no matter how hard you try to make it taste good. If you somehow manage to get a promotion to Crew leader you can get your meals for free, it's still not worth the stress though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teenagers and Adults
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 19, 2019
Alot of cleaning and organizing Prepping food cleaning the Fryer's n the grill Alot of training to explain to other workers dealing with costumers making sure that their food is fresh and hot n quick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Manager (Former Employee) –  Keller, TXAugust 19, 2019
pay is atrocious compared to what they expect out of you. look elsewhere for better pay and a less stressful job. Management has no respect for you or what you have to do in your own life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sonic Drive-In. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 14,972 reviews
54K
44K
34.1K
21.5K
11.3K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight