Staples Employee Reviews

Found 8,989 reviews matching the search See all 10,475 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff to work with
Tech Services (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2019
I enjoy working at Staples. Coworkers are friendly, as well as customers. Days are usually fast paced and the work day goes by really quick. Learned a lot about soft war and designs thanks to cpc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for a first part-time job..
EasyTech Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Lee, NJJune 19, 2019
I'm not one for upselling or the idea behind it. It's a numbers game and it's easy to get to the at this store. It's a good way to get experience in the tech field for the computer industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and numbers driven
General Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 18, 2019
Staples as a whole may not be a terrible place to work. The company is very focused on metrics almost to the point of being overboard and overbearing. As a General Manager you are micromanaged be the DM to the point of it being ridiculous. Expect to have excessive conference calls, emails asking for answers, a borage of text messages day in and day out. Forget about time off, your evening and weekend is very much interrupted with negative texts about service, ESP, market baskets, and don’t get me started on conversion! Best of luck in a very negative culture and a “just get me the numbers” environment!!
Pros
Weekly pay check, benefits
Cons
Negative culture, work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mays Landing, NJJune 18, 2019
The managers at my Staples are amazing!
The work is fairly easy but, as with any retail job, the associates and supervisors do get paid enough for the work that we do.
Everyone in the workplace is very nice and helpful and every shift is a blast!
Pros
Laid back work place
Cons
Not enough pay for the amount of work done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 18, 2019
It's very easy to remember where items go after the first two weeks and it always gets full during summer time, especially around august. It was a great experience and the managers will do their best for you to understand your tasks at hand.
Pros
Free lunches from time to time
Cons
Get comfortable shoes because your feet will hurt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soul-sucking job
Print & Marketing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Middletown, RIJune 18, 2019
I have a hard time deciding if this or being an associate at panera has been my worst job. Extremely unrealistic standards forced on employees, managers will always take the side of the customer. The workload is always more than is humanely possible to get done alone, and when I was employed there was only one other employee in the print department and no one else in the store was trained and able to help. They would often refuse to allow me on my break during 8-10 hour shifts. If that isn't enough, the equipment we had to use was constantly breaking and not working right, I'd spend at least an hour every shift on the phone with tech support to get whatever machine was broken that day working again. They offered me raises that I never saw and I eventually quit when they implemented a mandatory 40 hour work week for all employees when they couldn't find new hires, as it was my second job. No work-life balance whatsoever, I was asked to come in on nearly every day off I had. Terrible job, even if the store had it together there isn't enough money in the world to pay people to deal with the nasty customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Copy and Print Associate (Former Employee) –  Wayne, NJJune 18, 2019
I've always liked Staples. However, I had to leave the site I was working. Simply because I refused to work with high school students or people who have little respect towards our U S Military. Some of the girls who works at the store were not very career proficient, very unprofessional at all. When I report the problems to the supervisor or manager, they seems to careless. On top of that, I was taking on another position at different company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
discourage working here
associate (Former Employee) –  njJune 18, 2019
hours not alot

gets repetitive

people will vary but atm very low social atmosphere

hardest part is learning location of products

alot of walking and lifting to stock rpoduct help customers etc

overall i dont recommend it
and tech people do more for the same pay
Pros
very clean and no disgusting smells not as stressful
Cons
mandatory breaks, not enough hours, repetitive, barely any socializing with coworkers, noticeable boredom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent part time job
Sales Technician (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 17, 2019
It was a good job while i was going through college, they were flexible with the hours and stuff.
there were a lot of tedious work but that's with most jobs i guess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot warehouse
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Lithia Springs, GAJune 17, 2019
our particular location was very hot in the work area. the work was sometimes intense depending on customer demands. During peak season there was a lot of overtime offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run while you can
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Scottsbluff, NEJune 17, 2019
Staples is a sinking ship. They have to resort to unethical business practices to stay afloat. They like to toot their own horn about being ethical and whatnot, however, it's all just lip service. They would love to have everyone on the same page when it comes to cheating. And if you don't conform, then you are treated as an outcast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not flexible with scheduling
Print and Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Short Pump, VAJune 17, 2019
The scheduling was a big problem at my location. In addition the turn over time for employees was so fast that it was a constant struggle to be properly staffed causing individuals that stuck with the company to be overworked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staples doesn’t care about their employees
Print and Marketing Associate (Current Employee) –  North Bergen, NJJune 16, 2019
I’ve been at staples for 3 years and I’m so tired of it. Management is a mess, associates never stay. There is no organization, the whole store is constantly falling apart. I never get a break since I’m the only print and marketing associate available.
Pros
Pto
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun, but not recommended
Inventory Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gilbert AZJune 16, 2019
I enjoyed my time at staples and was able to learn a great deal, but the wages, inconsistent hours, and tight metrics made the job more stressful than it was worth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Delivery Driver II (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA 23455June 16, 2019
I really enjoyed working for Staples because of the face to face contact you have with the customers. It allow you to build a trusting relationship and bond with each and every customer on your route. When you have that trust with customers it gives you more flexibility and enjoyment to meet all the customer needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No more
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nags head ncJune 15, 2019
Worst place ever to work. Management is a joke. Pay is ridiculous. Don't stick up for employees when customers are rude and nasty. People drink on the job and smoke weed in parking lot. Manager hides and watches Netflix movies.
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything you can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job
Staples Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COJune 15, 2019
I loved this job! It's literally the best. Its super easy and fun going. It's a job that I actually didnt mind restocking. Depends which area you work in but cashiers always restock at night. Happy go lucky company. Plus their managers there are just awesome! You could talk to them about anything. Or at least that's how it used to be.
Pros
Food if youre hungry, awesome and kind managers
Cons
Walking? Standing....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are the best thing about the job, otherwise it's a very boring job.
CERTIFIED TECH SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VAJune 15, 2019
The store is usually pretty slow until some holiday, tax season, or back to school comes around. You only really help out customers but when there are none you go to each aisle and check if everything's in order. It's a very boring job and the pay isn't great, but I enjoyed working at Staples only because of the managers. They were really helpful and understanding, as long as you did what you were told they're really your best friend.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too hectic and bad management.
Print and Marketing Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MassachusettsJune 15, 2019
As a Print and Marketing Associate, I expected the work to be hectic but very rarely was there more than 3 hours of working with coworkers and doing orders and walk in orders by yourself is awful because rarely are there patient and understanding customers and getting yelled at by customers is awful.

The store manager is helpful at times, he only helped when I was backed up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job. Low pay. Good people.
Technology Manager (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TXJune 14, 2019
From the summary, the reader can surmise that I have mixed feelings for Staples. On one hand, it is retail with good and bad customers. The job is not challenging and it's routine. The pay is low. On the other hand, it was never too stressful. The coworkers were enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Staples. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,475 reviews
52.6K
43.2K
32.8K
21K
1842

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Staples.

Powered by Comparably