Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 27,229 reviews matching the search See all 34,411 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save Yourself
Barista (Former Employee) –  Milpitas, CAJune 19, 2019
I worked for sbux for over 2 years and it wasnt worth it. I switched stores multiple times and it was great having a secure job when I moved but the people are hit or miss. My co-workers were mostly all amazing. Sbux does not pay a living wage unforunately..
Pros
Free coffee!! Stocks (if you make it that long for them to vest)
Cons
short breaks, people suck, not much tips, lots of work little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good option
Barista (Former Employee) –  Ballard, WAJune 19, 2019
This is a quick job that can at times feel nonstop. Still, there are some major perks and it can be almost fun. Not a bad place to work if you're working towards your education or would like to move up in a company without specific training being necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Blue Jay, CAJune 19, 2019
It was a great job to work during the time I went to school. It gave me fundamental experience in working with customers, a team, and a high-stress environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Delavan, WIJune 19, 2019
It’s fast paced and tough work. Learned about customer service. Management is tough. Customers can be nice but also extremely rude. Free coffee and part-time benefits
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s what you make it . .
Barista (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2019
Starbucks is a great company. They also have awesome products and competition. My experience with management with Starbucks was a little shaky at times but manageable. Starbucks offers great benefits such as dental and medical. They also have options for their members to take advantage of free school online.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt very much like a vital part of a team when I worked for Starbucks.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NY 10567June 19, 2019
I enjoyed the process of making drinks, assisting guests, and prepping food. The employee benefits were a great perk for me as well, and I felt like I was really accomplishing something while I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Barista (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJune 19, 2019
This was an easy, food job. You showed up to work, did the same thing as the day before, and left at the end of your shift. It was an easy routine which worked well around me having another job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fast pace and stressful, but worth seeing happy customers and forging new relationships with both people and the beverages.
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Malvern, PAJune 19, 2019
Although the management was poor between all three Starbucks stores I worked at, the benefits of free drinks and food item, relationships with coworkers and customers, and the food preparation skills I was able to acquire were all worth it.
Pros
Free lunch and drinks on shift, making drinks can be exhilarating and a fun challenge
Cons
Short breaks, poor communication, over scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with benefits
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDJune 19, 2019
Starbucks was a pretty decent place to work when I was there. Would recommend it. It Does get hectic in the morning but that’s to be expected. Other than that, it wasn’t bad.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement, weekly tips, unlimited free drinks
Cons
Can be understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy-going job with chill atmosphere.
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAJune 19, 2019
I enjoyed this job for its relaxing and friendly atmosphere. It's easy-going and fun to do, especially when serving and getting to know regular customers. The job is very sociable and it makes the job more enjoyable.
Pros
One free drink and food item a day
Cons
Lots of under-staffed shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Barista (Current Employee) –  Hastings, MIJune 19, 2019
There's never a dull, boring moment. If you're not slammed with frapp loving middle-schoolers, there's counters to be wiped down, syrup bottles to be scrubbed and always dishes to be done. The hardest part of the job is when there's a huge line and you're the only one working and are on the closing shift - you're doing everything in your power to make sure the opener is ready for their shift while you're making sure you keep yourself prepared for what's next in yours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Starbucks wasn't that bad
Barista (Former Employee) –  Davie, FLJune 19, 2019
I worked in a Starbucks that was in NSU. We never got any of the benefits that the usual corporate Starbucks would, but I heard that they offer nice benefits. The management wasn't too bad, they were overall pretty supportive but had some off days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point for new workers.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 19, 2019
There is a huge amount to learn from this job. I have gotten to better my customer service skills, and learn a plethora of skills pertaining to the management of a business. As well as food safety and sanitation skills. I think this job has a lot of skills you can learn and take into many aspects of of life and your career. I am certainly grateful for the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job if you can handle the stress
Barista (Current Employee) –  WoodbridgeJune 19, 2019
Starbucks as a company is good for employees, but they’re not making enough strides to make things sustainable. We are contributing to plastic waste and it’s not okay. At the end of the day it’s a Corporation and they only care about money. Barista life is reletavily easy, don’t get too hung up on management, you’re never gonna think they’re doing their best. Just go in, do your job, be nice to ppl and go home.
Pros
Discounts, free drinks, nice atomsphere and culture
Cons
Management, lack of communication, contribution to pollution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The location i worked at was understaffed, and the manager was degrading.
Barista (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTJune 19, 2019
I quit the location (no I did not put in my two weeks). The supervisor was always degrading at the location I worked at. Other then that amazing co-workers, experience in social skills and lots of others, and decent benefits, the morning rushes are stressful and you need to multitask. If I'm honest your underpaid and overworked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun incentives for employees
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 19, 2019
It was really tough to maintain a work/life balance because of the hours worked switching between morning and evening regularly.
The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new drinks and working with the coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 19, 2019
Most customers come back because of the environment. It is a great place to work. For the most part, they do take care of their employees. The pay could be better though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun place to work.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJune 19, 2019
Overall, I had a good time working here. Things started to get a little overwhelming, though, when my manager was not keeping my school and externship schedule in mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Barista (Current Employee) –  TxJune 19, 2019
Awesome company to work for with great benefits. Only need to work 20 hours for full benefits. Excellent training and preparing you for success. Fun people and great work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Barista (Former Employee) –  South central Los Angeles caJune 19, 2019
In charge of cleanliness of workplace area as well as the store as a whole. Receiving and giving out accurate orders to the guests and making drinks/pastries to customers liking; I was able to gain a great multipersonal experience. Developed the skills to work in a fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 34,411 reviews
513.7K
412.2K
36K
21.6K
1918

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight