Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 28,656 reviews matching the search See all 36,185 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the culture and values
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXAugust 20, 2019
Starbucks has an awesome culture and values and it provides partners with some great benefits. The only thing I don't like is that the company does not allow managers to adjust schedules even if we posted 3 weeks ahead of time. Any partner can call sick to take care of his pet or a family member and the manager will have to cover if nobody is available to cover the shift. Managers are not even allowed to ask for doctor note. How do I know if people just want to take the day off and me covering for them. No OT for managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super high speed pace
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  East Northport, NYAugust 20, 2019
I loved being a barista and making a great cup of coffee for the customer. The whole mantra of star bucks is to connect with the customers. I really did make connections with customers but the super high speed pace just took away from the connecting with people. Too bad because I really enjoyed making all the different types of coffee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Brockton, MAAugust 20, 2019
Great company, treats you very well! Has great management and really wants you to succeed and move up in the company! They are all there to help you!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Barista (Current Employee) –  Eugene, ORAugust 20, 2019
Great place to work, good management and great crew to work with. Good discounts and fun place to spend the day! Love coming to work everyday! highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met some of my best lifelong friends there
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COAugust 20, 2019
You won't regret the experience. Every day is interesting and it's so fun to see cusomters faces light up when they see their drink. Go in ready to work hard and have fun and you'll never have a bad day!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to get some experience
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAAugust 20, 2019
I worked here for five years, and it was a great first job for me to learn the basics in an environment where you didn't constantly feel pressured not to fail. The worst thing you could do was spill coffee at the barista level, so it was a good place to learn urgency, time management, and people skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So stressful
Barista (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 20, 2019
They don’t care if you don’t know how to make a certain drink or if you need help. Angry customers, and rude coworkers. I don’t recommend this to anybody who isn’t used to a fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Working Environment
Barista (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GA 30068August 20, 2019
- Constantly moving/cleaning
- You learn how to manage time better
- Great Support System

Hardest Part About Starbucks
- Customers are very very unhappy when drinks are unavailable/made incorrectly
Pros
Free Lunch, 1 -2 breaks during Shifts
Cons
High maintenance Customers, Work Colleagues Gossiping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Barista Starbucks (Former Employee) –  League City, TXAugust 20, 2019
The only way you will get noticed is if your friends with everyone at your store if not you will get lies told about you and when you walk in the whole store looks at you like u are a bad person and u do one thing wrong and they will turn on you in a heartbeat and then pretend to be your friend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks
Starbucks Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bardstown, KYAugust 20, 2019
Absolutely loved the job, and the people I worked with! The only reason I left this company was because I was starting school in a couple of months! Broke my heart to leave my work family!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felexible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 20, 2019
The best thing about this place was the flexibility in shifts and were able to adjust to school schedules. They paid higher than the medium wage by a dollar, and raised in pay per year. At least that was what I was told. Overall it may take time to move up, but not as much in other jobs.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
majority of benifits are only for full time workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced but fun
Barista/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDAugust 20, 2019
i worked in a high volume store with short staff. it was always busy but with good teamwork, we always pushed through. Plus, it's nice to get all your drinks for free after a rush. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Exciting Work Environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIAugust 20, 2019
I thoroughly enjoyed working at Starbucks, making the drinks, taking the orders and connecting with the customers makes it worth your while. It's a very easy going job, relaxed, you just have to pay attention to what you're doing and keep good communications with your coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place To Work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Briarcliff Manor, NYAugust 20, 2019
Great Team
Excellent Benefits
Positive Work Environment
Good Management
Equal Opportunity Employer
Physically Demanding/Fast Paced
Flexible Hours
Good Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth it?
Barista (Current Employee) –  OHAugust 20, 2019
I have worked for the company for 3 years and they don’t give good raises at all. I’m literally making about the same as I was when I started. Not worth being yelled at, condescended, and used. I work two peoples jobs for a very low wage. Yes, the benefits are nice. No, it isn’t worth it to me anymore honestly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Barista (Current Employee) –  Saint Cloud, FLAugust 20, 2019
It's not the best place to work, but definitely not the worst. IT all depends on the store your'e at and the group of people you have with you. It can be high stress during the rushes, nut that can make it a lot of fun because your'e busy and the time flies by.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 20, 2019
The Starbucks Warehouse Is A Great Environment to Be In Filled With Great People All Around, Including: Coworkers, Supervisors, Trainers, Management, And Even The Big Wigs. The Smiles You See Throughout The Shift Will Get You Through The Shift🤝
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start - Okay Finish
Cashier / Barista (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 20, 2019
Starbucks as a FoH employee is a fast paced environment perfect for people as a first job or if they enjoy that kind of environment. They are accommodating to your school schedule and understanding about your life outside of work.
Pros
Good benefits for employees over a year
Cons
Management can play favorites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here for 7 years
Barista (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMAugust 20, 2019
The benefits are outstanding. I recieved my bachelors degree for free with them and started a 401k working part time and had stocks (about 600 dollars) each year to cash out. And they paid for my maternity leave. Buuuut, the work is stressful everyday. It will challenge you everyday. And the pay is WAY too low. The management will always work with you for your schedule or any issues your having. But, the staff is usually very young and thus immature and can be plain mean for lack of a better word. It's a physically demanding job, my body hurt after every shift. So, like everything else in life it has its pros and cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, rewarding work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAAugust 20, 2019
Starbucks is a challenging though rewarding place to work because coworkers act like a team, customers (mostly) are wonderful and kind, with great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 36,185 reviews
514.4K
412.8K
36.3K
21.7K
11K

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight