State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 9,814 reviews matching the search See all 9,953 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety - fun place to work
External Employee (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJuly 19, 2019
Enjoyed all temp jobs I had at State Farm.

Was hired permanent in the call center but it was not for me. I tried to make that known but you are not allowed to apply for other positions for one year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a employee supportive company
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Snellville, GAJuly 19, 2019
Endless computer updates and continually changing software make this a very high stress job when coupled with sales quotas. Not a very employee supportive company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fruitful experience
CUSTOMER SERIVCE INTERN (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAJuly 19, 2019
Being a customer service intern at State Farm gave me the opportunity to really practice my communication and interpersonal skills. It was a rewarding experience and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
QA Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody, GAJuly 19, 2019
The job was very laid back and easy to manage. Love working for the company they really care about their employees. From the team meetings and one one ones they were really helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has changed . It's now just another 1-800 # re Claims
Sr Field Claim Specialist (Former Employee) –  GA regionJuly 19, 2019
Syate fatm 15 years ago cared about their claims employees now it's lower pay, . Company wide layoffs. A 55-60 year old adjuster making $90k is gone. Now tbeey pay desk adjusters $12-$14 an hour after the train for a couple weeks .. it's a different company now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Claims Associate (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAJuly 18, 2019
State Farm use to be a really great company to work for but now it is corporate ran and there is no work life balance and is very numbers driven and lack of quality customer service.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE / OFFICE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 18, 2019
The job is what you make it depending on the agent you have and the environment you're in. It can either make or break your experience. Also, having a great agent gives you better leads.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it
Senior Account Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Wilson, NCJuly 18, 2019
All agencies are run differently. Depends on who you work for. For the most part, it's a good place to work and your salary depends on how much effort you put into selling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not leaving company
PLCC Senior Auto Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 18, 2019
Not leaving just looking for pt evening . Not leaving good company if you want to apply then apply. Trying to apply for part time jobs elsewhere . Has nothing to do with my current job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
TECHNICAL SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXJuly 17, 2019
I had no intention to leave this job but they lied about the job position... Supervisors had there favorites...overall the job was good but they need to change some of the management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Farm is in the middle of a restructure. Lots of Micromanagement.
Auto Damage Appraiser (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 17, 2019
I worked for State Farm for 20 years. It was family oriented and stable. The company restructured 2 years ago. Many departments have been eliminated or staffing reduced. This is no longer a company where generations of families work. The turnover is high. Management gets their directives from corporate and can not longer make decisions that make sense. It breaks my heart to see a company that was one so highly thought of reduced to a bottom line, bean counting organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun environment.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 17, 2019
Working here taught me a lot. It taught me to be strong and confident. I enjoyed working here. I would advise any one to work here, they are a great team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Company and Culture in Insurance
Insurance Agent (Sales) (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJuly 17, 2019
Good place to start out in learning insurance. Work is typically quick paced with scripts to follow, for almost every situation. Most of the time you work within your hours, however typically there is a weekly push where you work over and have pizza.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but supportive
Auto Initial Loss Reporting Associate (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJuly 16, 2019
My role was in State Farm's call center as a claim handler. Almost every day I would come in to a queue of calls on hold, constantly over 100 people on hold waiting to be answered by our team. The customers we spoke too were calling on their worst day for any number of reasons: their brand-new car was in an accident, or they caused an accident but think it was the other person's fault, or they just lost/killed someone in the accident, etc. It's definitely a high-stress environment. The company wants you to take responsibility for any wrong done by any other department to avoid displacing blame; great in theory, but it takes its toll on the mental and physical body of the person taking on that responsibility multiple times each and every day.
Management was always supportive of hearing our needs as call center employees. Most of them were very encouraging and actually inspired me to continue on with my day, reassuring me of my abilities when I felt like I couldn't go on.
I learned a lot about my own auto coverage and how my policy works; what's covered, what's not, when/how my coverage is useful for me, etc. I learned how to train and teach others that were on my team and how to overcome challenges that were specific to each diverse situation (like age - teaching someone older than you vs teaching someone younger - two different processes). I also learned a lot about myself; the stressful environment took its toll on my physical and mental health, and now I know more about my personal limits.
The hardest and most stressful part of the job was denying our customers' their
  more... claims, especially when they didn't understand why they were at-fault/refused to accept our explanations. When working in a call center environment, customers seem to think that we aren't real people, just an object to pay for the damages to their car - but when we don't, we're personally attacked or threatened. There's no stress in worrying about any real harm to come, but to be berated seemingly day in and day out, it definitely piles up.
My favorite part of my job, being a top performer despite these stressful factors, was helping my team and new-hires improve on their customer service skills. I thoroughly enjoyed training those around me to lower their call times by teaching them keystrokes that helped speed the page-changing process or when to ask specific questions/avoid specific questions by using previously gathered information during the call.
  less
Pros
Company-provided lunches, benefits
Cons
Highly stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience for future
PROPERTY AND CASULTY SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  New Castle, PAJuly 16, 2019
A typical work day would be working my pipe line of prospects, working new leads, pivoting to other lines of business and setting appointments to close. Managing a relationship with customers. Cold calling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  North Las Vegas, NV 89032July 16, 2019
Management was not the best. The best part about working at State Farm Ins was education the client on our policies and helping them purchase the right one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Literally learning something everyday
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 16, 2019
I enjoyed all the things i learned and the people i worked with. My mangers were always horrible but the agent himself was a very pleasant guy. I had no benefits or insurance which i found ironic but other than that it was surprisingly enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to Work
Short Term/Temporary Assignment - Randstad (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZ 85281July 16, 2019
It was a good job and interesting and it was a temporary position. The supervisors were good to work for, they were helpful and understanding. I talked to customers of the state farm bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and pay good but No work life balance
Licensed Auto and Homeowners claims adjuster (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 16, 2019
Very much a call center environment but this is of course not advertised this way. High turnover in management and inconsistencies in how attendance policies are handled by management. Very strict attendance and no wiggle room for any sick days or emergencies. If you do not have the PTO hours and you call in sick, you could lose your job. PTO/sick days are not separate. Benefits are very good snd so is pay so that may keep some people with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
IA (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 16, 2019
This is an amazing company to work for. They truly look out for their employees and their benefits are amazing. The work life balance is also great and they have many things to offer their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 9,953 reviews
53.6K
42.8K
32.1K
2804
1660

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

74%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

49%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss