U.S. Marine Corps

Reviewer Recommended

Recommended Workplaces earn this badge by having an average star rating of 4.2 or higher in the last two years, and at least 10 reviews from Indeed users.

U.S. Marine Corps Employee Reviews

Found 23,123 reviews matching the search See all 24,247 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and rewarding job
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Quantico, VAJuly 20, 2019
The Marine Corps with both military and civilian employees takes care of their own, mentors their employees and trains them for advancement. Leaders are professional and the employees focus on mission success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Focused and Professional Environment
Armory Custodian Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 20, 2019
The USMC was a very professional and intense work environment the requires a lot of focus and attention to detail. The USMC was a life style that required its marines to be very skilled and well rounded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for experience in communication and leadership.
Sergeant-AAV Section Leader (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 19, 2019
Lots of good times, and an excellent way to learn leadership skills. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for opportunities to be a part of the armed forces.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, Rewarding
Maintenance Floor Chief (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 19, 2019
-typical day
work out, eat, go to work, lunch, back to work, work end around 5-8pm
-what you learned
learned how to work on diesel engines
-management
alot of bosses
-workplace culture
makes friends with your peers
-hardest part
just depends
-most enjoyable part
people you meet friends for like
Pros
People you meet
Cons
Just Depends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Aviation Maintenance Data Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kāne‘ohe Bay, HIJuly 19, 2019
A Great experience being in the Marines, which allowed me to travel and meet many friends who will go above and beyond to help out in any way possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Avionics Technician (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, CAJuly 19, 2019
It has been a good work environment. I have gained experience doing this job. This job is definitely challenging and makes you a better person overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be great depending upon your job
Section Leader (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAJuly 19, 2019
Essentially you are never truly clocked off. The mission of the corps is excellent however that all depends on whether or not you are lucky enough to get a command that actually follows it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but a good way to get experience
Data Network Specialist (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 18, 2019
Work and culture changes from unit to unit. A typical day for most jobs is 0700 to 1630. Times can change depending on the situation. Management is very hot or miss.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to learn and grow
Weapons Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Lewis, WAJuly 18, 2019
Ive learned a lot from the Marines, learned how to clean and maintain weapons. we would go do Pt early in the morning, eat, school, eat, school, eat, sleep.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time management
Cpl (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCJuly 18, 2019
If you hate your family, have no hobbies, and believe that your liver is something that needs to be destroyed, then the Marine Corps is for you!
Get up to early to get the "early bird specials", and stay at work for no apparent reason until after sunset. If you work hard, you might even see someone else get an award for your efforts.
Join now and receive quasi-suicidal tendencies, free of charge!
Pros
Cool uniforms... that you pay for...
Cons
Everything...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oorah
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 18, 2019
get time, good memories, great friends and family. People while in service care for you and family, always had something to do, and at times not much.
Pros
Depends on Command
Cons
Depends on Command
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Jet engine Mechanic (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 18, 2019
Ready to move on to the next chapter in life. Working there showed me what else is out there and that I would like to work somewhere else. It was a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the struggle is real
Communications technician (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 18, 2019
its hard work and allot of rushing to just sit and wait the jobs you do are suck and you will hate going to work everyday but the people you meet and the bonds you build will last a lifetime and make every day worth it,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Way to Start a Career
Ordnance Technician (Former Employee) –  WorldwideJuly 18, 2019
The US Marine Corps taught me skills and technical knowledge to carry on into the corporate world. I appreciate the leadership training, the real-world tests of all the skills, and the opportunities granted to me for personal development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting work place
Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCJuly 18, 2019
A typical day would consist of showing up to work, delegating my Marines to work on a different task such as work on the trucks, load this gear, clean weapons, and finish online courses. Then while they are doing their task, I would enter data into excel for my command, supervise my Marines, finish an online course. Also, as a facilities manager, I had to follow up on work orders, run fire drills, and maintain the safety and cleanliness of the building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oorah
Aviation Ordnance Technician (Former Employee) –  MCBH Kaneohe Bay, HIJuly 18, 2019
I loved my time in the Corps. Honor, Courage and Commitment. Semper Fidelis. Motivation. Job security is pretty high unless you do drugs or get a DUI or something crazy.
Pros
Camaraderie
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regrets
Motor Transport Operator (Former Employee) –  Camp PendletonJuly 18, 2019
When they say the Marines have issues, not the cool ones. A bunch of bullied kids that grew up with complexes that abuse the rank structure. Overall it's a great concept, when followed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace with many advancements opprotunities
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 17, 2019
supervising, controlling teams, teaching classes, controlling safety, hardest part of the job is the schedule and the mental and physical work. Most enjoyable is construction and demolition aspect of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Development at its best
Chief Operations Officer (Current Employee) –  Yuma, AZJuly 17, 2019
I have nothing special to say other I'm 38 years old and I'm about to retire and receive a paycheck for the rest of my life. So that is nice. I miss family and graduated college while in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Substance Abuse Program Supervisor (Former Employee) –  United StatesJuly 17, 2019
Amazing brotherhood, since of helping, amazing benefits Pay is great after the first year or two without an education. Free travel. Stay in shape and see the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Marine Corps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 24,247 reviews
515.1K
46.2K
32.3K
2399
1284

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.5Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight