UnitedHealth Group Employee Reviews

Found 14,262 reviews matching the search See all 16,366 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
UnitedHealth Group selected this as a representative review
Great company
Health and Social Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 19, 2019
I enjoyed working for UHC. I relocated to another state however, and the assistance to transfer to another position that I qualified for was minimal to none. The benefits are decent, which include Bravos, which are points to obtain gift cards or purchase items from their internal store. There is not a work and balance life as your having to work overtime or on your time to meet deadlines and your review is dependent on you meeting those deadlines. The great thing about working at UHC was that I worked remotely and could work at any hour of the day. My manager and team were great, very helpful and knowledgeable in the LTC Medicaid program.
Pros
Bravos, great team environment
Cons
Fair benefits, work long hours, transfer to another position is hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive learning experience
Provider Service Advocate (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 19, 2019
Working for United HealthCare has been a great learning experience. They were patient in my learning process within the healthcare field. My co-workers made it easy to want to come to work. This location allowed me to get to and from work without any commute stress.
Pros
Location close to house
Cons
No part time position available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Senior Claim Analyst (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXJune 19, 2019
Normal Account Receivables group that supports the Texas Health Physicians Group with all their billing, coding, and financial needs. Great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Micromanage Every little thing!
RN (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2019
Wages are poor, and hours are long. Management will ignore you, and leave you with problems. There is considerable nepotism, and some staff are sleeping with other staff. The whole environment is pretty toxic. Workplace culture is non-existent. No one will speak to you on an average day. Environment does not feel safe at times.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and mostly fun workplace
Call center billing and collections advocate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJune 19, 2019
Training was tremendous fun. However, I feel it wasn't quite adequate to perform the job. I received several rewards for performance. I felt there was a bit of age discrimination where performance was concerned. Many young people goofed off and had many absences, with little discipline. Overall, it wasn't a bad place to be and I welcome an opportunity to be employed with them again.
Pros
Rewards and good evaluations
Cons
Training and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAJune 19, 2019
EXCLLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

oducing or able to produce large amounts of goods, crops, or other commodities.
"the most productive employees"
synonyms: fertile, fruitful, rich, fecund, high-yielding
"productive agricultural land"
relating to or engaged in the production of goods, crops, or other commodities.
"the country's productive capacity"
achieving or producing a significant amount or result.
"a long and productive career"
synonyms: prolific, inventive, creative; More
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensated well, but chaotic
Associate Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 19, 2019
I was generally compensated well, but the development process is chaotic with middle management being a burden instead of a facilitator. Negative work culture of selfishness, lack of communication, and "pass the buck" mentality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 19, 2019
Like most call center jobs it has its ups and downs but I like how you had great chances for advancement. If your just starting in the call center environment it is a great place to start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space..
QA Analyst (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTJune 19, 2019
First of all I would like to say thank you for all employees.They work very hard and friendly.This work space very productive.I wish good luck for everone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are horrible
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 19, 2019
I made the mistake of thinking since I’m working for a health insurance company my health/dental/vision would be amazing. I couldn’t have been more incorrect. In the short time I’ve been with the company I have had 3 prescriptions denied, including Pro-Air. My dentist stated, ‘Wow, your yearly benefits are really low.’ Meaning if I get the dental work I need, I won’t have any left over if an emergency happens. I needed an emergent surgery and before I even got taken back to pre-op I had to pay a $2000 insurance fee. I’ll have a doctor bill and equipment fee as well. I have NEVER had benefits this bad before. I recommend if you really need medical benefits to not apply with this company. I’m planning during open enrollment to cancel UHC insurance and start Blue Shield.
Pros
Most of the management is supportive
Cons
Tons of women bickering in the office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Senior Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIJune 18, 2019
It is a very challenging yet rewarding job. I work in the subrogation department. I have learned many new things and I also learned many new processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Patient Care Coordinator / Work Flow Specialist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 18, 2019
Great learning experience. Learning a great deal about HIPAA and established good relationships. Work environment fluctuated often and went from relaxed to firm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from UnitedHealth Group
June 19, 2019

Thank you for sharing your perspective. I agree that UnitedHealth Group has given me the opportunity to grow and learn tremendously in my career. We wish you the best! Sincerely, Amber H. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Provider Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 18, 2019
completely depends on what department you are located within and what location you are. The job varies very much and isn't consistent. Layoffs can happen at anytime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 18, 2019
It's a fine job! I enjoyed working there for the time I was thee. I was provided a better opportunity and decided to take it. That's why I left, otherwise I would have stayed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traing is horrible for you to have success
Pre-Service duals (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 18, 2019
Do not do duals you will regret it. Always make sure this is what you want to do not everyone is cut out to work from home. I wish there were better training and too many meetings and computer issues.
Cons
to many meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from UnitedHealth Group
June 19, 2019

Thank you for your perspective. If you're experiencing too many computer issues, you can talk with your manager to determine the best course of action or reach out to IT to figure out next steps in getting a new computer. If you're looking for additional training, ask your manager for learnsource courses that would apply to your role or help your career. I hope this helps! Sincerely, Amber H. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Credentialing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 18, 2019
$12/hr. No raise or growth with the company ever unless someone retires, quits, or dies. If you get a raise it will be 12 to 14 cents after a FULL YEAR
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from UnitedHealth Group
June 19, 2019

I'm sorry this has been your experience. I encourage you to seek out a mentor or talk with your manager about the situation you're facing. It could make all the difference in your career. Sincerely, Amber H. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Documentation
Nurse Practitioner Long Term Care/House Calls (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 17, 2019
There is no work/life balance here. The Nurse Practitioners are treated like work horses and expected to complete a gross amount and tedious documentation on a daily and monthly basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uhc
Claims Recovery Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Franklin, TNJune 17, 2019
Great place if you are looking for a home and work life balance. They have flexible schedules and work with their employees. The pay is awesome. Great incentive options.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from UnitedHealth Group
June 18, 2019

Thanks for being candid! The work life balance is definitely a pro of being an employee here! Thanks for sharing. Sincerely, Meredith F. - Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home/Work Life
RN, Case Manager, Complex Patient Population (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 17, 2019
Wonderful place to work but became a 24/7 job to keep up with the increasing patient load for the RN and CNP. My dyad covered more than 10 LTCF, greater than 150 patients.
Pros
The CNP I was assigned with was fantastic and valued my assessment skills and recommendations.
Cons
Long days, as the month was closing out my days were sometimes 18hrs, or I took paperwork home and did 3 more hours of work at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at all times but overall a good, friendly environment to work for.
M&R Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  oldsmar, FLJune 17, 2019
United healthcare overall has been a great company to work for they are always showing appreciation for there employees, very fun environment to work in,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UnitedHealth Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 16,366 reviews
54.8K
45K
33.7K
21.4K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.4Fairygodboss Score

63%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

56%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss