UnitedHealth Group Employee Reviews

Found 14,022 reviews matching the search See all 15,628 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
UnitedHealth Group selected this as a representative review
Great company
Health and Social Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 19, 2019
I enjoyed working for UHC. I relocated to another state however, and the assistance to transfer to another position that I qualified for was minimal to none. The benefits are decent, which include Bravos, which are points to obtain gift cards or purchase items from their internal store. There is not a work and balance life as your having to work overtime or on your time to meet deadlines and your review is dependent on you meeting those deadlines. The great thing about working at UHC was that I worked remotely and could work at any hour of the day. My manager and team were great, very helpful and knowledgeable in the LTC Medicaid program.
Pros
Bravos, great team environment
Cons
Fair benefits, work long hours, transfer to another position is hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shady Business in Management
Senior Billing Collections Representative (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 16, 2019
Unkept Promises
Turned down other offers for this position
and the contracts were never solidified.
There is Nothing else to say about this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Data Scientist I (Current Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNAugust 16, 2019
UnitedHealth Group is a great place to start your career. However, one should not expect many opportunities for advancement. Data Science is a very new discipline at UHG, and there is very little structure with respect to how one would advance their career as a Data Scientist. In fact, the role "Data Scientist" did not even exist until a year after I began. The Data Scientists at UHG are several underpaid, and many are leaving after just a few years.
Pros
Good work/life balance, good PTO
Cons
Legacy company with legacy systems, below-average compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good fit for the right person.
Government Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 16, 2019
The management at optum in Jax is fantastic. They are a GREAT group of people who really care about their employees. For real, not just say that they do like most companies. They're usually willing to work with you if you have issues and they are happy to help you help yourself. Work life balance is ok. They offer a ton of VTO (voulentary time off - unpaid unless you have personal time accrued)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Clinical Appeals Reviewer (Former Employee) –  Maryland Heights, MOAugust 16, 2019
Stressful and more work than pay! Needs to be in depth training of job and more strategic planning of team and days off. Insurance benefits are absolutely amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company with No Real Benefits
SR Tech Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Warwick, RIAugust 16, 2019
Let me start off by saying that although they are a health insurance company, the benefits that they give their employees are overpriced and in name only.

They also very recently laid off many of us in order to outsource our jobs to the Philipines.

The immediate managers that we deal with are as amazing as our co-workers. On the other hand, management above them only see you like cattle and a number and not as a person.

Pay raises top out at 2%, which is less than the cost of living increase.

The job itself is fast-paced and intense. But, that is expected of a call center that handles 300,000+ employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place
Appeals Representative Sr (Current Employee) –  officeAugust 15, 2019
Overall UHG is an okay place to work at in my opinion. The work itself is not hard, but management does not do what they should or seem to truly care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, benefits could be better
Claims (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 15, 2019
This is a great place to work as far as culture goes. Lots of rooms to move around and accelerate career. However the benefits are mediocre. Not having co pays and having high deductibles is hard on all of us.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Financial Consultant (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 15, 2019
They mention that they have the option to work from home when interviewing, but there are so many meetings that require in person attendance that it becomes just a struggle just to get a desk. When the weather is extremely bad they will still require meetings in person. They let you know how low valued you are. Upper management is demanding & it won’t be a good fit unless you’re a work addict. They hire quickly then realize they’ve spent too much and start firing or outsourcing. Not a very stable work environment and not very friendly coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal call center
Benefit Advocate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 15, 2019
The building was recently updated and now includes a cafeteria and small convenience store, a small gym, 3 additional break rooms with free coffee and hot chocolate as well as vending machines, and an additional break room with TV and foosball table. Normal call center environment with 2 scheduled 15 minute breaks and a scheduled 30 minute lunch and pretty much tied to the phone the rest of the time. No work/life balance at all. It was VERY "clique-ish" and if you don't fit in with the "in" crowd you are pretty much left in the dark and have to beg for help if you need it. My supervisor never coached me or helped me the would chew me out for not knowing an answer that a member asked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Culture
Call Center Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 15, 2019
Competitive atmosphere to complete tasks on time. Involved meetings arrangements to make sure all agents were up to date. Management team lacked compassion and better communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There’s good and bad like everywhere
SAS Programmer (Former Employee) –  RemoteAugust 15, 2019
The company keeps branching out and merging with others and it changes the culture of whatever group you’re working with. They pay a bit less than P&C companies. Overall I liked it bc I like working in healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ageism and female discrimination
Sr. Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 15, 2019
If your an older worker, they will get rid of you and hire two younger workers with no experience. They do not value employee sacrifice, hard workers, and successful implementations. Management and director’s are a joke and do not stick up for their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place no longer exists
Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAAugust 15, 2019
They were bought out by Compassus Hospice. When they bought out the company everyone jumped ship except my boss and myself. We ran the place until we were able to get the patients relocated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Field Staff (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILAugust 15, 2019
I love working with my team. But management made it very hard for us and only worked the ones they like. I never got a raise or benefits. But I stayed because I loved what I did and my hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation provided you work long and hard
Business Analyst III / Financial Consultant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 15, 2019
A typical day is 9-5, rarely a lunch break. Production work and then development work, including ad hoc requests.
I learned the healthcare environment and increased my knowledge of SSIS packages and propriety software.
Management seems typical for a large company.
The hardest part of this job is 6/7 days a week working and/or on call.
Most enjoyable part of this job is the work and analyzing the data.
Pros
Sometimes a bonus depending on company performance.
Cons
Short to non-existent breaks, never ending work week, 1% yearly salary increase, clueless micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready for a challenge
Auditor / Practice Consultant (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXAugust 14, 2019
Great benefits and PTO increases with tenure. Opportunity for growth. There are a lot of work from home positions. Depending on department, work/life balance may be good or not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and perfect work schedule
Health Homes Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAAugust 14, 2019
I miss this job! and I'm bitter that I was laid off, wish the program wouldn't have ended because this job worked perfectly with my school schedule. Telecommuting is great! and I was satisfied with my wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and diverse work environment
IT Support Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIAugust 14, 2019
UHG is a large and diverse organization with a large IT infrastructure as well as worldwide presence. There is an excellent work environment with opportunities for advancement, however there is constant reorganization and reinvention which can impact employment stability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay pay
CLINICAL ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Work from homeAugust 14, 2019
doesn't pay enough for what job wants you to do. management is way too strict. The process constantly changing. Very, Very, Very poor training and expect you to know process immediately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work
Sr. Consultant (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXAugust 14, 2019
We get to work with end users directly and we are updated in the technologies , they do give us an opportunity to bring the new ideas on to the table.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at UnitedHealth Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 15,628 reviews
54.6K
44.8K
33.6K
21.4K
11.4K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.4Fairygodboss Score

63%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

56%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss