Verizon Employee Reviews

Found 23,505 reviews matching the search See all 24,211 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Verizon selected this as a representative review
History at Verizon
Customer Advocate (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZJuly 8, 2019
I have been an employee with Verizon for about 4 years now and I can honestly say they are a great company to work for. They care about their employees, they also have excellent benefits, nice work environments, and respectable wages and compensation. I could highly recommend anyone who is looking to start/advance their career in the customer service industry should definitely consider them as a future employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the daily interfacing with management and my peers
Senior Executive Assistant to SVP Controller (Former Employee) –  Basking Ridge, NJJuly 19, 2019
Worked in a fast paced environment with the ability to work and assist senior management on designated projects, etc. Sr. level management were very approachable and supportive of the employees. Have a great gym with state-of-art equipment. Verizon very supportive of health and wellness of the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Basking Ridge, NJJuly 19, 2019
Typical day is busy in meetings with team, stake holders and client groups. I learned a lot about taxation and Tax auditing. I gained certificate in advanced taxation. Its a great work culture, team development and talent development of individuals, company pays for employees to do their Masters and or MBA programs as well as certifications needed at work.
Hardest part of the job was too many projects and not enough resources. Most enjoyable past was that company offers good salaries, benefits and supports your selected charities.
Pros
Paid training, Onsite Gym, Matching donations for Charitable causes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job that got progressively worse over time
Assistant Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2019
I was there for a shade over 10 years. Every year they'll tweak the compensation structure to ensure you make less and while adding additional responsibilities. I'm only slightly exaggerating when I say that by the end of my tenure, I was doing twice as much work for half the pay that I got when I first started.
Pros
Benefits are top of the line
Cons
Compensation constantly changing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Sr. Manager, IT (Former Employee) –  DFW Airport, TXJuly 19, 2019
The work itself was highly technical. However, there was very poor work life balance. Quarterly layoffs took a toll on the staff. In addition, our unit was outsourced to another company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 19, 2019
new experiences, fun fast pace , helpful information , work hours available , support team on hand , varies locations to work from , team involvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from the customer facing positions
Data Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Leominster, MAJuly 19, 2019
At the VZW owned retail stores (and resellers) the company’s only concern is to oversell service plans and sell unnecessary accessories. Staff is required to add new lines and increase service plans, as well as oversell the number of accessories per handset. No care is given to existing customers. If you have morals, & integrity, only consider call centers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressured
Business Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAJuly 19, 2019
Verizon is a company that looks at numbers, it is high pressured and demanding. The management does not have the knowledge to adequately support their teams but teams are expected to perform regardless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable world leading telecommunications company to work for
Senior Enterprise AV Engineer (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 19, 2019
Enjoyable world leading telecommunications company to work for. Verizon is a large company with lots of different options for employment. Compensation and benefits are above average for skilled employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Hadoop Developer (Former Employee) –  Temple Terrace, FLJuly 19, 2019
Amazing work place. The job is relaxed and you will need to know how to communicate with your team members, and you have to have good time management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Senior Business Trainer (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDJuly 19, 2019
Great place to work ... great benefits promotion potential ability to work as a team great supervisor support very innovative and working to keep employees informed of company changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company in transition
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Lithonia, GAJuly 19, 2019
Company shifting from a numbers/results focused engine to a behavioral based retail environment. Coaching and conversations are based on maintaining the same behaviors thru each customer interaction vs pure numbers attainment. Store hours make it difficult for work/life balance due to fluctuations in store hours/schedule. Great benefits. Fast paced, people friendly work environment if you build the right culture on your team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Senior Analyst/Trainer (Former Employee) –  MarylandJuly 19, 2019
Not the worst company to work for, but not the best either. Compensation was above board and great tuition reimbursment options, however, the work life balance was non existent and extreme metric driven pressure placed on managers flowed downhill to the front line reps creating an "us versus them" mentality.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Work Life Balance, Too Metric Focused
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Store Manager - CSR (Former Employee) –  Comstock Park, MIJuly 19, 2019
Spent four years at this store, went to work for more money at another company. I would work for Verizon again.
They will push you to sell to each and every customer, if you don’t like to be shadowed or questioned as coaching, this job is not for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you have the time
Solutions Manager (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYJuly 19, 2019
As a single mom Verizon was amazing but as I advanced in my career it became harder to have a work life balance and childcare because of location was hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People you work with directly are awesome. Management doesn't care about you
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  UtahJuly 18, 2019
They just need to take the time to figure out how to be profitable without undercutting the low level employees. Middle management (DM's and lower) really care and want to see you succeed but are overworked and cant put the time in. The higher management couldn't care less about anyone below them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging if you want it to be
Customer Zone Technician I (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXJuly 18, 2019
Good place to work. Different work every day and always learning something new. Hardest part of the job was some of the constantly changing objectives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced work environment.
Network Assurance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Panama City, FLJuly 18, 2019
Verizon is a great place to work. The job is fast-paced and it keeps you busy and involved. Support from management is awesome. You can grow your talent there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture
Talent Acquisition Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 18, 2019
Working at Verizon was a great experience all around. Only complaint I have is that the compensation was too low compared to the cost of living in Florida.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCJuly 18, 2019
management is very professional and encourages everyone to excel within the company. The company provides all the needed resources to help you become successful and stands by an open door policy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people
Sr. Compliance SME (Former Employee) –  Riverside, COJuly 18, 2019
I enjoyed my tenure working with Verizon. Great projects, great teammates. I prefer to work as an independent otherwise I'd still be there. I learned a great deal just working on the projects with the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Verizon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24,211 reviews
58.5K
48.2K
35K
21.4K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP35%
In the Top 35% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Verizon.

Powered by Comparably