YMCA Employee Reviews

Found 22,384 reviews matching the search See all 25,600 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned from this job.
YMCA Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Calcutta, OHJuly 21, 2019
I learned the importance of safety and rules being used on the pool deck. I've learned the importance of real life snerios while being physically and mentally prepared for myself for these obstacle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Arvada, COJuly 21, 2019
All the staff was very friendly and the work environment was fun and engaging working with the kids. Some activities were unorganized but we always figured something out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
passionate and fast-paced work environment
Arts and Crafts Area Head (Former Employee) –  Fremont, MIJuly 21, 2019
- Employees are very dedicated and well trained for any situation.
- Work culture is very supportive and close knit.
- Job is high intensity and you are expected to be "on duty" at all times, even when off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family environment
Lifeguard/ Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAJuly 21, 2019
About 30-50 patrons around any time in pool. Cleaning and organizing pool area and equipment. Fun environment for families and all ages to come live healthier lives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ymca
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Saint Clair Shores, MIJuly 21, 2019
One get the work at 7 clean the rooms before the kids got there
Two I learned that all kids give a different experience in the daycare program.
Three management was good they where nice but it was annoying that we never had constant hours they always changed.
Four the culture of the Ymca is vary diverse many being that it is non profit it was able to accommodate many families schedules
Five hardest part of the Job is having large groups of kids lesson to you
Six most enjoyable part of working there is the kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJJuly 21, 2019
The YMCA is a great place to start your career. It's a great place learn different things and different cultures. The people are so friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Fitness instructor (Former Employee) –  Westfield, NJJuly 21, 2019
Generally clean and updated facility, direct supervisor is supportive. Seems to be a disconnect between fitness area and general management. New classes (fitness instructors) are not always offered fairly (taking into account seniority, how many classes you already teach) rather people are chosen by supervisor. The most enjoyable part of the job are the people in your classes; the hardest part is communication as everyone has a different schedule. Overall very pleasant/family like atmosphere to offset very low wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environment
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Santa Maria, CAJuly 21, 2019
It was a lot of fun 'working with small children. It was exciting to see their learning skills develop. There was never a bad day and the kids are full of energy that its contagious. You will definitely leave with a smile on your face at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Part Timer a good start. Enjoyed the friendliness among management and co workers
Child Activity Center Leader (Former Employee) –  Gardena, CAJuly 20, 2019
Good Place to start as part timer. Kids and parents are very nice. Co workers are truely understandable and supporting. Management is great! Loved working there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burn Out
Aquatics Director (Current Employee) –  MultipleJuly 20, 2019
I’m in my third year as an Aquatic Director at the YMCA. I’m so burned out that I’m almost incapable of doing my job. I work 60 hour weeks physically in the building and even when I’m not in the building I’m expected to be on my phone answering emails and texts. I get maybe one day off every two or three weeks.

Everyone loves what they do but the Y takes advantage of that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 20, 2019
Overall I really enjoyed and appreciate working with the families and most of the staff at the YMCA.
Management has alot to work on. Poor communication and training on how to properly care for children in a healthy environment is a MUST!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad I left!!!! Horrible management!!!!
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Pottstown, PAJuly 20, 2019
Horrible management !!!! Favoritism and not even telling me my sons school nurse called for me because my son hit his head and they said to call when things settle down in the class room!!!! This was an emergency and they didn’t care about me or my son!!!!
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for young adults
YMCA Counselor (Former Employee) –  Halfmoon, NYJuly 20, 2019
Working here granted me the opportunity to make new friends with coworkers. I learned how to be a part time parent as well which will help me when I become one myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the ymca is easy going just got to be alert for any emergencies because that is part of the job
YMCA Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  North Las Vegas, NVJuly 20, 2019
Management will work with your schedule and will allow you to take time off if you ask in advanced. Just show to work on time and dress in your lifeguard uniform and you’ll have fun.
Pros
Easygoing
Cons
Training every other week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Enjoying Company To Work For If You Love Working With Kids
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXJuly 20, 2019
As a Camp Counselor depending on if you are full time or part time , you work 4 or 4 1/2 hours M-F starting off at $9-$10 hr , pay biweekly , eligible to work full time after a certain time being..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJuly 20, 2019
Everything is always changing there because you get a new aquatics director like every six months who brings a whole new set of rules and pressures. too stressful to get paid minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 20, 2019
My experience had its highs and lows. It is a stressful and demanding environment but can be rewarding. Management was okay, could be better. Fun field trips with campers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Housekeeping Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Estes Park, COJuly 20, 2019
Not only is the YMCA of the Rockies located in a beautiful place but the people there are great as well. The employees and even the guests makes you happy to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworker dedicated to community. Teamplayer
Building Custodian, Managing, Supervising, Renting (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJuly 20, 2019
Excellent worker performs good work. Works independently. Goes above and beyond excellent. Very approachable. Welling and able to get the job done at no cost.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
YMCA After School Counselor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, OHJuly 20, 2019
GREAT PLACE TO WORK. Very flexible schedule with option for more hours. They are a completely well organized business who cares about there employees and there life outside of work . They really work with any schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 25,600 reviews
511K
48K
34.5K
21.3K
1859

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight